We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spillian: A Place to Revel
Ranked #1 of 3 Fleischmanns B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Everything was amazing, from the rooms to the food to the hosts!!!! Spillian has been renovated to its former glory and is beautiful! We met some very interesting people and visited many of the little local towns! We were there over Easter and the weather was perfect and the grounds of Spillian were beautiful. Mark and Leigh could not have been more accommodating and gave us plenty of ideas of interesting things to do, which was especially nice since I have two boys ages 15 and 10! Mark made scrumptious breakfasts for us every morning and we got to experience their new chef on Easter for a Soup Sunday feast complete with all kinds of interesting local friends of Spillian!! Can't wait to go back and visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaGarlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 85 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

The property is gorgeous and the folks that run it are equally as amazing. Breakfast every morning was such a treat and yoga under the sun on Sunday morning was even better. The owners, Leigh and Mark, are incredibly warm and unbelievably helpful. Their energy was so uplifting and they were there to give us great trip advice at every turn. Melissa, the chef, was also very talented, creative and thoughtful. She was so kind to everyone in our group and taught us a lot about everything she served. Between the three of them, you can feel so much passion throughout Spillian.

The rooms were quaint and relaxing. The decor was enchanting and I loved the claw tubs! Everything was regal, but comforting and I can't wait to come back (2nd trip is already booked!).

Off of the property, and within 10 minutes from it, there are tons of activities - hiking, lake, kayaking, a train ride through the mountains, etc. Everyone in the surrounding towns was so kind and helpful and we met the greatest people throughout the trip. There's tons to do and it's a great escape from the city. I highly recommend a weekend at Spillian.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Stacy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spillian is the former summer home of a prominent new York family being rennovated in grand style. It is a treat just to walk around the house, each of the rooms has been decorated beautifully, and there is a large lounge area downstairs where you can read, sit on the porch or listen to music.

I stayed in the Lotus Room which shares the great views across the valley to the forrested hills opposite.

Do be there for 'soup sunday' which, when I visited, was a meeting of locals where I met some interesting people. The food is great, owners and staff at Spillian are very friendly and accommodating. My stay had a real 'home' feel.

I expect most of the people visiting will be from New York, but for my fellow international travellers a few points which may help:

1. Summer is kind of important in this area. Winter doesn't necessarily end on a timetable - it can still still be cold in spring - and the local tourist flow does not start until late May. So Fleishmanns, the village itself, is fairly dead until the summer season starts - no cafes, museums etc.

2. Its a moderate 20-30 minute walk from the centre of town if you are travelling by bus, which is a really good service which runs up from New York Port Authority Bus Stop in about 4 hours and also makes it easy to do a day trip to, for example, Woodstock.

3. To range more widely it is useful to have a car. There are many beautiful spots around but it is a rural area and public transport is limited.

4. Yes, there is WiFi.

Spillian was something unexpected, unique and memorable. Lots of places promise to be that, this actually is. I am glad to have chanced on it in my visit to the US.

Room Tip: Look at the website and pick one which takes your fancy ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank altakoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This trip was absolutely wonderful. The property is lush and charming and the hosts are spectacular. The food was fresh and delicious, the rooms super comfortable and clean, and the atmosphere unlike any other experience. I highly recommend this place as a getaway for friends or loved ones--it should not be missed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 265ashr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

It's like visiting a museum - a really, really fancy one. The ambiance is unique and authentic - gorgeous decor. The owners are so friendly and sincerely want you to enjoy your time there. I was there for a "Soup Sunday" and it was local and delicious. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone, and I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Peg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Mark and Leigh are great hosts! The Friday "fondue evening" was a wonderful way to relax with colleagues and make new friends. Each room has unique character that adds to the adventure. Recommend as the place to stay when in the Catskills.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending a weekend in this finely restored historical mansion. The hosts, Leigh and Mark, have created a warm, unique retreat for guests..clearly rising from their own deep love of Spillian and their combined artistic backgrounds. Splendid atmosphere. Nice people. Finely detailed themed rooms made it fun to choose one that was right for us. Delicious, fresh, well prepared meals. They were gracious about meeting my need for gluten-free food..which was of the same high quality as the other diners'! (GF people know that's not always the case.) This place is special! Perfect combination of Catskill Mountain rustic and elegance. And on a clear night, you can sit in the rocking chairs on the big front porch and see billions of stars! We can't wait for another opportunity to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burns157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleischmanns
19.3 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
301 reviews
19.4 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Run Bed & Breakfast
River Run Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Fleischmanns
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Breezy Hill Inn
Breezy Hill Inn
#3 of 3 in Fleischmanns
100 reviews
19.4 mi away
Catskill Lodge
Catskill Lodge
#1 of 8 in Windham
293 reviews
17.5 mi away
Fairlawn Inn
Fairlawn Inn
#1 of 3 in Hunter
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spillian: A Place to Revel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spillian: A Place to Revel

Address: 50 Fleischmanns Heights Road, Fleischmanns, NY 12430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Fleischmanns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fleischmanns
Price Range: $123 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spillian: A Place to Revel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1882 Catskill Mountains Gilded Age summer retreat of the Fleischmanns Yeast family. This 8 bedroom historic gem has been newly restored to its original glory and will delight you and your family and friends. Every room is appointed with period antiques, tapestries and original wall murals evocative of days long gone by. Full facility rentals available for Conferences, Retreats, Weddings, Reunions and Celebrations all on 33 acres with groomed trails for hiking and camping. Come for your own private mini-retreat, join us for a workshop, or ask us about renting the entire facility for your special event. World-class programming; local spirits, fine wine and craft beer; a commercial kitchen with a brilliant chef serving local foods; yoga on the porch, and much, much more. Spillian is a place to revel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Spillian: A Place to Revel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing