We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't stay here again unless it's free”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Fishkill
Connecticut
Level Contributor
472 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay here again unless it's free”
Reviewed October 16, 2010

My family of four (kids ages 5 & 7) stayed here for one night because we had a family wedding in Staatsburg. We tried to book with a few Marriotts closer to Staatsburg, but they were completely booked even many months in advance. We used Marriott points for a free stay. I would pay to stay here again only if traveling with our dog.

The staff was great- no complaints there. The complimentary breakfast was better than expected. My kids loved the waffle machine. The location, right off I84, is near every chain restaurant you could possibly need for a weekend trip. You can walk to Starbucks and several restaurants.

This property appears decent at first glance;however, as we walked to our building, located in the rear of the property, we decided it looked like a not-very-well maintained 70s condo complex. There was paint peeling. The residents had loud, barking dogs, dirty windows, and garbage bags on the grass.

Our room was on the upper level. As we ascended the stairs, we noticed peeling paint on the railings. The room, with one king bed and one very uncomfortable couch, was clean enough for our neurotic standards. It did, however, have an old and musty odor that made it unpleasant to be in the room. We turned the heat on and that, too, had a terrible odor. We visited family members staying in other rooms. The few rooms we were in were similar to ours. Mediocre and that unpleasant/needs-a-renovation odor.

We were glad we only pretty much slept in the room. I would not have enjoyed a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSecretVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    251
    134
    82
    41
See reviews for
388
111
41
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Itravelled with family which included 2 kids and we found this hotel great. We had left it until last minute to get a room and we were pleasantly surprised by the size of the suite. It had a loft with queen bed and bathroom upstairs and also pull out queen murphy bed downstairs , full kitchen and dining table and sitting area with fireplace. It was nice and quiet and room clean. Breakfast was included which was average apart from them running out of food and having to wait. Good value would stay again location isnt that nice though.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommyandmenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The front desk staff was just great, helping us with so many tasks for the wedding. The rooms were clean and well-maintained. A great weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridesfamily2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We looked at all the alternatives in the Fishkill area -- and pretty far outside of it -- and found nothing as good or attractively priced as this Residence Inn. Our room was huge, well-furnished, clean and quiet. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was a great deal, particularly considering our low room rate (we made reservations online). Our visit was a short one (only one night, since we were in transit) so we didn't sample many things besides the room and the breakfast the next morning, but we'll definitely go back the next time we're in the area. It was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vagabondas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towanda, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Although we arrived before 11:00 a.m. (check out time for current guests) to reconfirm our reservation for that evening we did ask if by chance our room was available early. The friendly and courteous hostess checked to see if any king suites were already vacant and cleaned to allow us to check in right then. Nothing was available but after a brief discussion with the manager we were offered an upgrade for an available penthouse suite so we would be able to freshen up now and enjoy our day with friends without worry about arriving back at the hotel to check in late. The hotel decor is showing its age but our room was very clean and well appointed and the staff was friendly and efficient. A lavish complimentary breakfast was well organized and maintained.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyhill53836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Stayed here only one night as we were traveling with a dog. Room was large, but needed renovating. Had not been cleaned very well. We found money on the couch and there was spider webs throughout the room. There was no way I could have had a child sleep on the sofa bed....very uncomfortable. It was OK for the dog...we stayed on the ground level and there were plenty of places to walk him. Only recommend this hotel if you can't find anywhere else that will take a pet.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwiknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fishkill hotels

Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I will try and make this short since most people who are looking for a review need only two things, Price and Cleanliness.

Traveled from Florida to visit West Point. Looked on line for a "Marriott" property since they are usually a good value. I looked at trip advisor for this property and noticed the last review was 2009. So I used google and hotels.com to get a more recent review. Nothing stood out so we made the reservation.

Arrived at 8 pm and had a reservation to hold the room. Called in advance to make sure they had me on file, which they did. When I pulled into the parking lot I was surprised that the hotel actually looked like a small apartment complex. This was great because traveling with kids you need as much room as possible.

As I parked and exited the car I got a good look at the property. I started to get that feeling......this wasn't going to be good. I went to the lobby and met with the front desk. She was eating her dinner as she checked me in. Everyone's gotta eat but at the front desk?? Come on! She presented me with a list of rules which stated No Smoking, No Pets, etc...

I signed with pleasure since that is exactly what I was looking for in a hotel. We got the room key and drove to the other side of the parking lot. As I walked up to the building I started getting that feeling again. The side walks were all broken and cracked, the shrubs were over grown and all the wood chip was missing from the flower beds.

The outside of the building was disgusting. It hadn't been painted in years. I got to the ground floor room which was right next to the pool. There were several men dressed in what appeared to be gang colors hanging around the pool and they were all smoking.

I entered the room and it looked like it was 1970 all over again. The room was partly redone but it still had old carpet and old appliances. The bedding was fresh and the counters were new. That's about it! Then the smell hit me.....MOLD! Need I say more?

I went back to the front desk and asked to be moved to another room. By this time she was finished with her meal and was happy to help. I went to the second room and found more of the same. This time I got slammed with the odor of cigarette smoke that was lingering in the room.

At this point I was done with the place. I went to the front desk and checked out! Hampton Inn next door is much better.

Good luck, pass up this property as fast as you can!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddTampa_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fishkill hotels
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
0.4 mi away
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fishkill
Hampton Inn Fishkill
#1 of 14 in Fishkill
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Poughkeepsie/Fishkill
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Fishkill
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#8 of 14 in Fishkill
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area

Property: Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area
Address: 14 Schuyler Blvd, Fishkill, NY 12524-2238 (Formerly Residence Inn Fishkill )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Fishkill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Fishkill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fishkill - Poughkeepsie Area offers 139 Extended Stay Suites in a 3 star hotel. Each includes a full kitchen, sitting area for TV, and a sofa bed. Complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning in lobby area from 6:30 to 9:30. Complimentary Wi-Fi. Complimentary day pass to Fishkill Allsport Fitness Center (must be 21 years of age). Complimentary Manager's Reception each Monday to Thursday in lobby area starting at 6pm with snacks and drinks for a social hour at the end of the day. Not a "box" hotel. The property has the appearance of a condominium with 18 two-story buildings surrounding a patio with grills and an outdoor pool. Rooms types include a Penthouse Queen and Executive King, both with a loft queen bed and extra bath. All 100% non-smoking suites. Available for short term or extended stays. Wedding groups and sports teams are welcome. Corporate accounts can be set up for business visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fishkill Hotel Fishkill
Fishkill Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing