We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maya Cafe

Maya Cafe
Ranked #4 of 92 Restaurants in Fishkill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
wappingers falls
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Service”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I had dinner last night and Maya Cafe. The wait staff was on the money. All the waiters and waitresses worked as a team. They made sure we had everything we needed and that we were happy with the meal. The managers "there were 2 there" came to every table and asked if everthing was up to par. The made some recomendations on Mexican Beers and food choices explaining what it was and how it was made. The food Excellent and the service Excellent. They didn't rush anyone like some restaurants do. We would deffinetly go back. I was a great experence.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    109
    24
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Festive, Fun and Fabulous food!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our family really enjoys Mexican food and our standard of good Mexican is pretty high. We were plesantly surprised with Maya Cafe. As vacationers in Hudson Valley area, we didn't know anything about the local restaurant scene. We were in the mood for Mexican so started reading reviews and came across Maya Cafe -- we were so happy to find the place. Staff was very friendly and atmosphere was very lively, yet not loud or intrusive. The food was tasty and prices were reasonable. Happy we went.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hulabulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Great food, we love their homemade chips and salsa. We haven't tried everything but we really enjoy the quesadillas and fajitas! The atmosphere is great, it's a great, friendly environment and is a lot of fun. Definitely check it out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mpidala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
211 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Festive Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Maya Cafe is a fun place to enjoy a meal. The atmosphere is very festive. The night I dined there were singers performing tableside and they were particularly good with families with children. For an appetizer the tableside guacamole is very good. My only suggestion here is to offer the patrons the opportunity to have the dish prepared a little spicier if that would be their preference. For main courses I tried a chicken dish (Pollo Oaxaca) and a pork dish (Carnitas Salsa Verde). The chicken was very good. It had a tasty creamy sauce mixed with peppers, portabella mushrooms, onions and spinach and had a nice level of spice and flavor. The pork dish was outstanding. The pork was very tender and was in a wonderfully spiced green sauce. The food in my opinion was excellent and the servers were all very knowledgeable, always there when they should be to clear plates, ask how everything is going and look for drink orders reorders. For drinks I tried the Maya Margarita, which is a combination of Sangria and Margarita. If you like both drinks give it a try. It is a very refreshing drink. The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is the pacing of the meal. When I sat down I had quite a few nachos with the salsa that is provided to everyone. After the tableside guacamole was finished it was just a matter of seconds before the main entrees were brought to the table. That is way too soon and would disqualify any restaurant from earning a 5 star rating. They were very busy on the Saturday night I visited and had many people waiting for tables. Rushing food to customers with a table in an effort to turn it around quicker is never a good idea.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AtomicReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great little Mexican cafe”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great food, always excellent service. The drinks are good, the guac is outstanding. The place can get a little busy, but thats usuallya good thing right? Favororite Mexican place in the hudson Valley!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Maya Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing