We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - nice suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Fishkill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Simply put - had a nice relaxing time. We just wanted to casually explore the area and Poughkeepsie and found a good deal through Priceline.

Positives:
Friendly Staff: the front desk staff were very friendly. we liked how they were very pleasant and approachable to talk to. We actually arrived a bit early but had no problems checking in early which we appreciated. these things can make a difference in making impressions to a guest.
Rooms are great - 1 bedroom suite gives a nice homey/relaxing feeling than just a small hotel room. Full kitchen/fridge/microwave, etc. living room space separate from the bedroom. the suite was definitely our favorite part.
Gym - 3 treadmills and 1 elliptical. not huge but sufficient
Laundry room - 3 washing machine (1 was out of order) and 6 dryers. 2 bucks each. liked the convenience of being able to wash your clothes on site.
Location: was not exciting but only a few blocks to the main street of Fishkill and Poughkeepsie is up on Route 9 about 20-30 min away. Walmart across the street - if you like that sort of convenience like us, it was a plus for us.


Was really on the fence about rating it 5 out of 5 but it had a few
Negatives:
toiletries: they had wall mounted dispensers for soap, shampoo, lotion (which was fine) as well as Hyatt hotel-mini shampoo/conditioner/lotions. However our Hyatt lotion tube was 80% EMPTY.. so I guess the cleaning lady thought they weren't used by the former guests and left it there.. not cool. We ended up using the lotion in the big pump bottle.
weekend crowd at breakfast - breakfast ends around 10 but afterwards, it's like a storm hit the breakfast room.. not their fault but a bit intimidating and stressful when you just want to get your toast.
Lots of kids - wanted to go to the pool but everytime we checked, it was filled with families/kids so not very relaxing for a couple
location: not the most exciting area but right off of the highway so convenient in that respect.

Room Tip: not much of a view - parking lot/walmart was our view. but maybe there is a courtyard-ish view on t...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
There are newer reviews for HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 812 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

We chose this hotel because it had an on premise restaurant for dinner. We would have been better off visiting Panera down the road.
Besides the fact that it's not really a full-service restaurant (it's more of a microwave-deli type menu), they were out of a number of items, had no lemonade or root beer, and service was lousy. Additionally, the buffet in the morning was disastrous.
The manager claimed that it was because it was a holiday weekend, but this shouldn't have come as a surprise to them. They did not adequately prepare for the bookings and therefore our trip was not as enjoyable as we expected.
I hope the Hyatt gets their act together. It could be a decent stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ImENF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Love this hotel. Great rooms, very helpful and professional staff, trying to exceed your expectations in everything. Also, very good breakfast with large selection, including health conscious options. Decent gym for a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EURESES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We often stay here for swim meets in the Newburgh area and the hotel is fantastic. Their staff is always very helpful, and they were able to quickly arrange a small conference room for our kids to eat and hang out in. All in all, and excellent stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pgosule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My family of three lodged here for two nights b/c my husband had some business in Hudson, NY. We did not use the indoor pool b/c they were chlorinating it; we used the fitness room, which was perfectly adequate, with its treadmills and free weights (plenty of clean towels and fresh drinking water). Our 3rd-floor room was clean and both Queens were comfortable. Housekeeping was fine and so was the water pressure. Go as early as possible for the breakfast for best selection b/c the food gets low later and only one person seemed to be manning it, and this individual was also making omelets by request. (Guests should always bring a buck or two with them to tip the omelet-maker as well as the person working to ensure food is replenished, hot, and of quality.) Parking was plentiful and there was a plethora of restaurant options nearby, some within walking distance. There is a little alcove near front desk where one can buy a bottled beverage, sandwich, snack, or other sundry, such as an aspirin, razor, or toothbrush. The hotel also offers a happy hour at which beer and wine is available, with a few flat-screen TVs to watch. Most front-desk staff we encountered were professional and courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for third-floor room with view of mountains but be aware room is not near elevator.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chess01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My family has stayed at this hotel before and found it acceptable when there were only 2 people in a room. This time there were 4 of us in a Queen Suite, that they said would fit 2 adults and 2 large teenagers. Well the king size bed was great for 2. The pull out couch was painful for even 1 person. My husband opted for the floor one night. There were dead bugs on the kitchen counter. The carpets were old, dirty and smelled. The smell in the hallways from all the different foods other guests were making was undesirable.
The hotel had no hot water on Sunday morning. They sent someone up to check as if their hand would feel something different. At that point is was past time for us to leave to get to the reason we were in the area so I went the rest of the weekend in showered. The manager was notified. I have received no calls back or emails.
We will Not be returning!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Handy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Lovely, inviting, clean, good location, terrific front desk staff.....everything a traveler looks for in a hotel. From Abdul, the front desk clerk to the terrific mattresses....everything is top notch. Breakfast has warm cakes, fresh breads, eggs, breakfast meats, hot coffee....
Only criticism is that coffee is only available in room with coffee maker. If you want a cup in the lobby, it's a Kureig for $2 per cup. Being a coffee drinker, I opted for Dunkin Donuts for a super large and reheated it all night in the microwave.
Rooms are equipped with mini fridge and a microwave. Would have liked to see plastic cups n the bathroom instead of glass....simply for safety reasons. I almost dropped the slippery glass twice in the bathroom....and with the granite counter top and tile floors- it could create a hazard. Other than that- place was absolutely great...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PADancergrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fishkill hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Fishkill
Hampton Inn Fishkill
#2 of 14 in Fishkill
767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Poughkeepsie/Fishkill
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Springhill Suites By Marriott Fishkill
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Fishkill
Courtyard Fishkill
#7 of 14 in Fishkill
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie

Address: 100 Westage Business Ctr Dr, Fishkill, NY 12524-2272 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Fishkill - Pougkeepsie)
Location: United States > New York > Fishkill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fishkill
#4 Business Hotel in Fishkill
#5 Family Hotel in Fishkill
Price Range: $120 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sierra Fishkill Pougkeepsie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing