We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Little Restaurant”
Review of The Tomato Cafe

The Tomato Cafe
Ranked #5 of 94 Restaurants in Fishkill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Www.tomatocafefishkill.com
New York
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Charming Little Restaurant”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A friend and I just stumbled upon this small and inviting restaurant while in Fishkill and what a wonderful find. It's a charming place and it has so many great and unique menu choices. I ordered a grilled vegetable sandwich that had eggplant, zucchini and squash with my choice of cheese. It was delicious. You can watch them cook your food and there are small tables if you choose to eat there. I loved it and would definitely come back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    76
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Eclectic spot with fresh, quality menu”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have visited the Tomato Cafe a few times now. Favorites for me are the Caesar Salad, which is perfectly dressed and includes a generous portion of fresh parmesan; specialty pizza topped by fresh greens in a delicious vinaigrette; and the eggplant parmesan sandwich. The half sized entree portions are ridiculously large for me and bargain priced. Desserts and bruschetta of the day are also highlights.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Triptchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service + Unique Cuisine”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Friendly efficient service combines with a unique slant on common foods at a very affordable price. It is family friendly too!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut,usa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were in search of a place to have lunch & stumbled on the tomato cafe. We had grilled veggie sandwiches. The sandwich was filled with fresh vegetables served on a delicious hero. The bread was very light & tasty. The children had a pizza & it was good as well. Very relaxed atmosphere & good service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Eat local when you travel”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in Fishkill,NY on a 5 day tour of the Hudson Valley. There were a lot of chain restaurants on Route 9 near our hotel, but if you just turn left on Main St. you will find this casual gem. My friend and I had a late lunch of BLT and Mac and Cheese with a caesar salad. The BLT had grainy bread and a grilled tomato with fresh sweet potato fries. The Mac and Cheese was full of crispy bacon and I needed a spoon to eat every yummy bite. The salad had big shavings of parmesan on top. The service was friendly as can be. We returned later for take out personal pizzas that were also delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherstur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tomato Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Tomato Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing