We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Barilotto

Il Barilotto
Ranked #3 of 89 Restaurants in Fishkill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It had been several years since I ate at Il Barilotto. I shouldn't allow so much time to pass next time! Each year, my partner and I drive from Washington, DC, to Poughkeepsie for a college graduation event. After the event, we have dinner at a nice restaurant. We ate here several years and thought we'd try it again. We weren't disappointed. We were early so things weren't quite up to speed, but that allowed us to take our time and enjoy our cocktails. My fish (a white fish special for that evening) was prepared perfectly. My partner said his pasta was done well, too. Since we are in the area only once a year, we may have to stay an extra day if we want to try another restaurant and enjoy another meal here, too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike-20024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    42
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Putnam Valley, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Upscale, pricey but great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Il Barilotto Enoteca is a charming little restaurant in Fishkill, nestled among other restaurants. You almost feel like you're on Restaurant Row in NYC. The food is excellent but everything is a la carte, which brings the price up considerably. Salads start at $8.00 and go up from there. When I asked if there was a smaller side salad, I was told that there was only the ones on the menu. My husband and daughter ordered the scallops and only got about 5 each--enough for my daughter, but not enough for a man, even with the pricey salad. My dish, Strozzapretti alla Salciccia Nostrana, (pasta with sausage and peas), was truly delicious, but I ended up sharing it with my husband, who was still hungry after dinner. So, I would suggest this restaurant, especially for special occasions, and if you are willing to order appetizers, entrees, salads and dessert. so that you don't leave hungry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best of the Hudson Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I've been going to Il Barilotto for years and have never had a bad meal. I recommend it to all of my friends and out-of-towners. There's nothing else quite like it, while I have my favorites on the menu you really can't go wrong with any selection. The drinks are just incredible, they have a new summer drink call "The Bees Knees" with muddled lemon, rosemary, honey and local vodka. It's light and refreshing and out of this world. The service is consistently top notch while not at all pretentious. It's the perfect restaurant for any special occasion or just a nice night out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WDW_girl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great family meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have eaten at Il Barilotto several times over the past couple years. The food is always superb. Service has been friendly and helpful when we have dined although you definitely need a reservation if you plan to dine on a weekend or special occasion.

The ambiance is lacking. The restaurant interior gives off a cheap, faux-talian vibe that is at odds with the quality of the food and the cost of your dinner.

Overall a great place to have a nice dinner with or without kids.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patrycja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The food was outstanding and our server Charissa was knowledgeable and friendly. She explained the different dishes and was very helpful. Food was served quickly and hot. The bread was fantastic but what topped it off was the fresh made whipped ricotta. Would highly recommend to everyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CtJen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Barilotto also viewed

 

Been to Il Barilotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing