We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Best in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Barilotto

Il Barilotto
Ranked #2 of 91 Restaurants in Fishkill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Osprey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Always has had great food and location in a small village adds to the charm. Always fresh and intimate Specials are good choices. Always try to make a point of stopping here for a meal while in town.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HMKeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    45
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not cheap, but here you get what you pay for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I go to Fishkill a few times a year for buisness. I eat here at least once everytime I go. This place is amazing. Every meal I have had here rocked my world. Everyone I took here loved it. People say things like "one of the best meals I have ever had...".

This is a profesionally run restaruant. They know what they are doing and they take no short cuts. If you want to impress someone, this is the place to take them. If they don't like it, ditch them. When I am alone, I eat at the bar. The bartender is amazing, he will take good care of you.

My wife has never been to Fishkill. We recently ate at another high price Italian restaruant. It didn't even begin to compare with II Barilotto. I was extremely upset. I told my wife here, even if we need to drive 5 hours each way and get a hotel. This restaruant is worth it because you leave it knowing you just had an amazing meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TiredOldSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Owned by the owners of Aroma Osteria. Nice menu & wine list. Good atmosphere & location. Good for date night.

Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicious for me, not so good for my partner in crime”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to check out Il Barilotto on a Saturday afternoon for lunch. It was right after a snowfall, so there weren't that many people out in the streets.

When we arrived, we opened the door to find a red, heavy curtain on a circular ring covering the door. Kind of like a shower curtain, but massive and intimidating. I thought the place was closed and had to step around it to see if there were any people. It was kind of awkward. I imagine they have it to block the cold and sun since the windows are big and the door lets in the wind. Still there has to be a more inviting, logical way to do this.

We waited about 7 minutes to be noticed, even though wait staff walked by and looked right at his. The host eventually dropped by to say hi and seat us, but not before answering an incoming phone call. His demeanor was not welcoming or pleasant, in fact he was kind of snobby. And boy, we were lucky enough to be waited by him, too. Not! He took his time and didn't bring our check until much later.

The decor was beautiful and I really liked the feel of the restaurant. It was quite and kind of romantic, but still very cozy.

I had the special of the day, it was a ravioli that was stuffed with cheese and covered in a divine cream with prosciutto shavings about. I really enjoyed it. My boyfriend had the chicken sandwich with mushrooms, though, and he was disgusted. He couldn't finish half the sandwich and the chicken was greasy, the kind of greasy that barely comes off your fingers. When we got home he had a pretty bad stomach ache from the sandwich, we ended up throwing it away instead of eating the leftovers like we normally do.

We really wanted desert, but for $9.50 for gelato, we said no thank you.

Other than that the price was not bad, but for the experience and my boyfriend's reaction, we might give this one more try before officially checking it off our Hudson Valley restaurants list.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A small noisy restaurant with limited ambiance but great food and service. Was visiting Hyde Park and looked at Trip Advisor for good restaurants and found this gem. Everyone in my group thought the quality of the food was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tullymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Barilotto also viewed

 

Been to Il Barilotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing