We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The spot to be in Cherry Grove”
Review of Top of the Bay

Top of the Bay
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: google: "top of the bay", cherry grove, new york This is the only eatery in Cherry Grove that deserves the title RESTAURANT. Please add it for I would like to review it. Thanx.
Level Contributor
152 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The spot to be in Cherry Grove”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had 'happy hour' drinks at the bar a couple of days and then one evening had a beautiful meal there.

It is the late afternoon spot to meet friends for happy hour with a great barman, and then stay on for the best food at Cherry Grove.

Service is impeccable, food is delicious with a good selection of cocktails and wines at reasonable prices.

Enjoy the end of the day at this great spot.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Had to come back”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were only on the island for a few days but after having an amazing dinner at Top of the Bay on our first night we had to go back on our last as well. The food was fantastic each night we went (although that burger is a mouthful), and the sunset from our table on that last night blew my socks off. All of the staff recognized us from our previous visit (let's hope that's a good thing) and couldn't have been nicer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Finally Arrived”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We were a party of 4 and sampled the breadth of menu. I had an absolutely wonderful hamburger piled high with bacon and french fries that were done perfectly, which I preceded with a bowl of onion soup that was tasty and hot.
The soup of the day, shrimp appetizer, salad, seared scallops, a pasta dish and more was enjoyed by the others, which naturally I had to taste. Truly perfectly prepared, fresh and all was hot. Every plate was totally clean at the ned of the meal. Service has developed to a quality level and owners are on site to make sure all goes well. Add to that a clean dining room, bathrooms, and kitchen and you have the best the Grove has to offer.
And most importantly, drinks are served in real glasses and made properly
It is now worth the cost of the ferry and parking to come to the Grove for a night, as we finally have a great restaurant again. Thank you Ron, you pulled it off!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must go!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place was awesome! Great service, tasty food, and an awesome view. What more could you want? I would most certainly recommend this place as THE restaurant to go to when in Cherry Grove!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellmore ny
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“our dining room away from home”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

tob is the best destination restaurant in all of fire island. the food is always done to perfection, with the owner- ron king- ever present to ensure your total satisfaction

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank djmfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of the Bay also viewed

Ocean Beach, Fire Island
Cherry Grove, Fire Island
 
Cherry Grove, Fire Island
 
Cherry Grove, Fire Island
Ocean Beach, Fire Island
 

Been to Top of the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing