We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, and fab!”
Review of Dune Point

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherry Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dune Point
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cherry Grove
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple, and fab!”
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Dune Point was fantastic! Simple, rustic, and just the cabin you expect next to a beautiful summer beach. Don’t expect the Hilton, you won’t get it here baby, it’s not Manhattan after all! What you will get is great hospitality, and a great comfy little oasis next to the beach. After all, you’re really only there to sleep, shower, and shake off the sand from that day at the beach, and get ready for the next. Each unit has A/C, a decently equipped kitchen and (yes!) a full size fridge, ready for as much beer as you can pack in it. Beds are comfy, bathrooms have hot and cold whenever you demand, and friendly, smiling neighbors on all sides when you relax on the communal deck chairs on the many decks at each building. This place was simply, rustically, fab!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigapus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    23
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We spent 3 nights in Cherry Grove at the Dune Point. We reserved one of the cottages rather than the ocean-facing rooms, but it was worth it. The rooms have been renovated in a clean, Cape Cod wainscotting style, very comfortable bed, perfect location, A/C in the room (which could barely keep up with the 90+ degree heat wave, but it was MUCH better than the beach!). The kitchenette had all you needed to make your breakfasts, lunches and light dinners. All in all an excellent place to stay if you can't score a share on Fire Island.

P.S.: don't forget check-in is at the Cherry Grove dock, not at the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mediamutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I've been vacationing at Dune Point with a group of 20 or more women, every summer, for several years. Dune Point is one my favorite summer spots to relax, play, and enjoy the beauty of Cherry Grove, along with the sounds and smell of the ocean since it's located right by the beach. The location makes us all extremely happy! Our stay at Dune Point was better than ever with new, friendly owners, Petra and Rick, that clearly, put their heart and soul into the place. The accommodations are comfortable and clean and the staff is friendly and responsive. My large group of friends will continue to vacation at Dune Point for years to come. Truly, we all, absolutely love the place and coming back each year is like coming home! Thank you Dune Point for an experience that brings us all together each year!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wavejumper_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Now that Petra owns Dune Point, it makes it not only the best place on the island to stay, but the only place to stay. It is not just the rooms with the ocean view, or the deck on the ocean, or being steps from the beach, or being in the midst of nature, or the affordability of the prices, but you are staying at a place where the owner has a passion, commitment and love for what she is doing. She is living her dream and you can feel the caring in the way you are treated. Heavenly. My friends and I are now planning to spend one week here in September as well as many weekends in between.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

I usually stay @Grove Hotel for 6 years , new owners, raised their prices NO ONE is staying anywhere MID WEEK,those prices need to be lowered &they were!!&this place is MY first time,it's a huge place with half of it beach side and the other half on the other side of the boardwalk.I had a nice studio BUT no PHONE,NO place to ask questions,no one to tell me what to do for towels not even in the room!!I had a nice deck but NOISEY if you stay next to loud people in the bungalows who were drinking at 4am.I was about to call the cops,at the RIGHT price I give a Thumbs UP!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pointer165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

This place does not understand the word hospitality AT ALL. I planned a romantic week with my partner at this place. However, it turned out to be anything but romantic.
- Day 1: The day we arrived we were trying to have a nice dinner on the patio but had to listen to painters until 10pm.
- Day 2 We were awakened at 7am by workers banging on the side of the bedroom walls outside.
- Day 3:-5: More workers early in the morning until late at night. Banging and carrying on right next to the room/patio we had rented.

We complained to the desk worker who told us to talk to the manager. No apologies given and we were told the work would stop but it continued and the workers proceeded to get more rude and started to tease our dog.

We were not offered clean towels or linens the entire week. Trash was not removed or even new liners offered. There was no way to sweep the floors of the sand and dirt that accumulated over the week.

On the day we went to leave, we asked if we could store our luggage before catching the ferry (which they advertise as a 'service') and were told No, that we could pay for bag check at another hotel. When we attempted to protest that we had just paid over 1,000 for accomodations that were substandard, the desk person told us "what ever, Don't come back".

I will never go back to this place again and would never recommend it to anyone that wishes to visit Fire Island.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank cynmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2009

Dune Point has new owners this year and you can see the changes taking place. We had an oceanfront room that was recently renovated. It was very clean and had everything we needed. We were able to enjoy cocktails on a semi-private deck overlooking the ocean. Dune Point definitely has the best location when it comes to places to stay. You walk just steps off the deck onto the beach. If you are interested in cooking in, I think there are kitchenettes in all of the rooms.

If you have never been to Cherry Grove, it is quaint, and everything on the island has a rustic feel to it. There are a few restaurants and bars and a store that you can walk to (no cars or bikes are allowed on the island). When we return to Cherry Grove, we will definitely stay at Dune Point again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eve926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherry Grove
3.7 mi away
Clegg's Hotel
Clegg's Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ocean Beach
85 reviews
8.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Islip MacArthur Airport
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Residence Inn Long Island Islip/Courthouse Complex
20.0 mi away
Danford's Hotel & Marina
Danford's Hotel & Marina
#1 of 2 in Port Jefferson
487 reviews
11.2 mi away
Jake's 58 Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dune Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Point

Property: Dune Point
Address: Lewis Walk, Cherry Grove, Fire Island, NY 11782
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Fire Island > Cherry Grove
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cherry Grove
Number of rooms: 165
Also Known As:
Dune Point Hotel Cherry Grove
Dune Point Cherry Grove
Dune Point Fire Island/Cherry Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing