We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Belvedere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherry Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belvedere Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cherry Grove
Brussels
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed March 3, 2006

Deserves its Trip Avisor reputation. Good value for money. Clean. Efficient. Excellent location.

Helpful?
Thank Portable88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    22
    11
    9
    14
See reviews for
Families
0
44
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NewYork, Ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2005

Fun and an Experience! I stayed at the hotel for my birthday with my partner and we were one of the youngest couples there. The hotel itself is really pretty from the outside and rather modest once you enter. I knew it was a clothing optional hotel and was not surprised to see nudity, but was disappointed to see the rest of the men were over 60+. Again, not for the faint of heart!

The rooms are small, but the hotel is in a great location. Minutes from the beach, a short walk to Cherry Grove and close to the Pines - it is really in the center of the Fire Island experience. I would recommend it for a "fun, lets escape and be uninhibited" gay weekend - it is a very liberal environment and you will find a cute friendly staff. One minus is that, although the room is clean when you get there, they dont clean your room until you leave -which can cause a problem.

If you want a fun time with the option of wearing no clothes, then go there. If you are looking for a family - type atmosphere...keep searching! In any case, I would recommend it!

WORK!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TAINOSABIONYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, NC USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2005

The Belvedere's owner John Everhardt who retains managerial duties was instrumental in developing the Grove. The hotel has provoked endless rampant rumor and scuttlebutt to wit no woman has ever set foot within.
A flea bag by no means, it fits into a lengthy litany of compounds & resorts where bs is not on the menu, but bring your own toys. Cupolas provided.
The season's short and the theme rooms are many. Hurricane damaged in the past, a theatrical set designers fantasy, no well-travelled man should'nt have stayed there. It is like nothing else in the east tho more than anything there was a Florida-Flagler influence. Around every corner are 100 vignettes worthy of Vogue or House Beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giraffebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2004

I figured I would surprise my boyfriend with a romantic trip to the Belvedere Hotel. It is a large structure that is visible from the Fire Island Ferry and water taxis. For many years I had thought is was lovely from the outside but the cost of the rooms had kept me from staying there. Against my better judgement I made a reservation last weekend and I was heartbroken. Despite the outrageous cost of the rooms the PLACE WAS FILTHY. We stayed in the "Music Room" which gets its name from a picture of the opera hanging on the wall. The room was covered in heavy fabric and wall paper-not a good idea when your hotel is in a musty environment like Fire Island. It stunk of mold and mildew. The linens were old and moth eaten. My boyfriend refused to get under the covers--he laid our towels on the bed and we slept on top of the linens. The rest of the hotel is in equally bad shape; it is essentially falling apart. I have traveled to many places but have never had an experience quite like this. Needless to say we went home the following morning. Please walk past and admire the hotel from the outside. It is quite beautiful from afar and has tremendous potential but don't waste your money

Helpful?
20 Thank fdzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cherry Grove hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 27, 2003

This hotel has been a Cherry Grove landmark since the 1950's. It is a fixture in gay history and is like no other hotel you will expeience.
To compare it to a standard hotel experience will find it lacking in many ways. I stay there whenever I am in Cherry Grove because it is like no other place I've ever been. If you want to stay at a cookie cutter Ramada Inn go right ahead. This is a hotel I hope will always be there for people with a sense of their history and some imagination.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 18, 2002

Spent a weekend in this once glorious hotel in cherry grove. The place is falling apart. It took fifteen minutes just to get the key to turn in the lock every time we came and left our room. Chairs on our deck were missing legs and unusable, the deck was full of broken boards. Screens were not secured to the windows so they flapped in the breeze like window shades.

Also the whole place has become a sleazy type of bath house where you get out of the private shower in your room and someone is staring in from the window. Also we woke at 6 am to find a naked man outside our room window watching us sleep. It was VERY creepy!!

The health department closed down both the hotel pool and hot tub - although when booking a room at the height of the summer season, the owner neglets to tell you that.

They also played musical rooms with us as well - we booked a luxury room at a whopping $350(!!!!) a night and were moved to a $250 a night room - although the owner insited it was a $350 a night rate as well - although a subsequent call to the hotel asking the rate for the exact room we stayed in revealed it was in fact priced at $250.

Everytime we passed the front desk, other guests were engaged in arguments with the owner about a variety of things. Rooms that should have been ready to check at 12 noon were not ready until 6PM that night. A guest was complaining that the sheets on the bed to his newly checked into room were filthy and had obviously not been changed since the previous guest. People were screaming they would never return.

The owner - somewhere in his 90s - who you usually never see was doing all the work. Setting up breakfast, checking people in, answering the phones. I guess either his staff left him, or he did not hire a full staff so that he could save money.

It used to be great - but now it is more like Grey Gardens - run down, falling apart and filthy dirty. Stay at your own risk...

Helpful?
31 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherry Grove
3.8 mi away
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
#1 of 4 in Ocean Beach
539 reviews
3.8 mi away
Clegg's Hotel
Clegg's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ocean Beach
82 reviews
8.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Islip MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
756 reviews
9.2 mi away
Residence Inn Long Island Islip/Courthouse Complex
9.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Hotel

Property: Belvedere Hotel
Address: Bayview Walk, Cherry Grove, Fire Island, NY 11782
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Fire Island > Cherry Grove
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cherry Grove
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Cherry Grove
Belvedere Hotel Fire Island/Cherry Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing