We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This hotel would be a craphole even in Fallujah.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Botel Fire Island Pines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Botel Fire Island Pines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“This hotel would be a craphole even in Fallujah.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Wasn't sure where to crap because the whole place is a toilet. We were on the 3rd floor of the hotel, which unfortunately wasn't high enough for suicide. Was pretty sure that I could hear someone sobbing from the manager's office for one of the nights I was there. I loathe this place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
45 Thank Chrisfromsouthbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    1
    0
    13
See reviews for
Families
0
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The room was $600 a night. My pictures show what you'll get for it.
Granted Hotel Ciel is a party place and most guests come for just that. Before planning to stay here it's good to know what you can expect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
12 Thank feuilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Floor had sand all over it when we arrived. All furniture was broken making it unable to use the drawers. We opted to have a shared bathroom. When showering the knob for the cold water broke so we could not turn off the shower. We went to the front desk to report this but no one was there (and it was early, I'd say about 5pm) but there was a phone number to call. We called and left a msg. When we left the hotel we saw the guy who was working the front desk earlier and we gave him our room number and let him know about the broken shower and running water and he said he would get it fixed. When we arrived back at the hotel at about 3am (so nearly 12 hours later) the shower still had not been fixed. We called the number again and left another voicemail. When we checked out the next day it was the same person working at the front desk. He remembered our issue and just shrugged it off and did not offer us an apology or compensation. It was by far the most disgusting thing to walk into our shared bathroom and have water everywhere and a broken shower. It was even more frustrating when it was not addressed at checkout.

I will say, you get what you pay for. We stayed here just to have a cheap place to rest our heads. I will never stay again - paying a little extra for a functioning shower, caring employees and a swept floor would totally be worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Alena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Had the unique experience of staying at the Hotel Ciel for 2 nights June 15th and 16th, 2012. Unfortunately there were no reviews when we booked, and by the time we saw them it was too late to change. Our Mistake... We stayed in Room 107 on the Blue Whale side of the hotel, which was a disaster. I don't mind loud music, we came to FI to play and party a bit, but from Low to High Tea the decible level outside the room was beyond belief. And right outside out room was the makeshift gym, where the muscle boys were throwing around the barbells as 8am the following morning...so I guess sleep was never an option.... But enough about the surrounding, let's talk about the room. It measured 10x12, and had a king sized IKEA bed in the room, with one lamp on the floor. That's it... No chair, no dresser, forget about a TV... just a bed.
The floors were filthy, with paint peeling everywhere, and to call this a renovated room is the joke of the century. The Bathroom was equally dirty, with paint coming off of the entire "stall shower". Do yourself a favor and find some accomodations in Cherry Grove and just take a water taxi over the the pines. Or just play in the Grove since the only thing going on in the Pines is Low and High Tea. Anyone who books this hotel after reading all of the reviews deserves exactly what they get, a horrible room in an equally horrible hotel.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Where shall I begin? My Partner and I stayed at this "hotel" June 15 & 16, 2012. First, you walk into the office which is the size of most closets. The person working at the desk at 3:30 p.m. which is prime check in time was nowhere to be found. He checked us in without too many problems although he needed a calculator to make change of $1.23! Not the brightest bulb in the box. He had a horrible attitude Anyway, we get to our room. The first thing I noticed was no t.v., no dresser, 1 bedside table, the other side of the bed had a lamp on the floor! The bathroom was filthy, paint peeling, other people's hair in the shower. They claim this place has been renovated, total BS! You cannot renovate a building by painting the rooms a different color. They did not even do that right! There was evidence of the old color all over the place. This place will never have a repeat customer. By the way, have you ever heard of a hotel room without a blow dryer? No T.V.? No alarm clock? No ice machine? These people do not have a clue! This is the premiere place in New York for Gay men to party! NO BLOW DRYER!?!?!?!?!?!? I have never stayed anywhere that did not provide a blow dryer! Gay Hotel? How the hell are you supposed to look your best without a blow dryer? DO NOT WASTE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY ON THIS DUMP! Rent a house, stay at Cherry Grove and take water taxi's back and forth! By the way, there's nothing to do in the Pines anyway! Move back over to Cherry Grove! They are claiming the Sip & Twirl will open by July 4th….. Not a chance! They are not anywhere near competing the re-build. Thay have not even begun the Pavillion! Stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Avoid this hotel at all costs! Stayed there this weekend after all of the hotel advertising that it had been recently renovated. Well this is what I found. An air-conditioner that was falling out of the glass door, no cold water running to the sink in the bathroom (I had to turn it on and off at the shutoff valve if I wanted a drink), no cups of any kind, 2 bath towels, no hand towels, or beach towels to be found, the room had only one sloppy coat of paint trying to cover the previously blue walls, none of the new "artwork" was to be found in my room and to top it all off the drawer front to the nightstand fell off when I opened it. The hotel management just scoffed at me when I asked for a different room and they also seemed equally annoyed when I asked them for cups for my room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TLVarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

from the moment i set foot on the island I knew it was a mistake. it is a cross between a soviet style dorm and a $25-a night motel furnished with 20 year old IKEA beds and lamps and mould in the shower where they can charge $400 a night during party weekends thanks to their monopoly in the Pines and their cancellation policy. only 4 letter words spring to mind about this hotel but the ones i can write here are dump, dive, ugly load of dung and yukk. i have been in better kept youth hotels.

by the way this hotel has been year so long i am shocked it doesn't have more reviews.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank gianni0567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fire Island Pines
4.9 mi away
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
#1 of 5 in Ocean Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
4.8 mi away
Clegg's Hotel
Clegg's Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ocean Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
4.7 mi away
Houser Hotel on the Bay
Houser Hotel on the Bay
#5 of 5 in Ocean Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Islip MacArthur Airport
11.3 mi away
Islandia Marriott Long Island
9.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Fire Island Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Fire Island Pines

Property: Botel Fire Island Pines
Address: Harbor Walk, Fire Island Pines, Fire Island, NY 11782
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Fire Island > Fire Island Pines
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fire Island Pines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the most enviable location in the center of Fire Island Pines. Located steps from the Pines social scene, the hotel features direct access to the pool deck and gym, and easy access to all bars, restaurants, clubs, shopping and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Botel Fire Island Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciel Hotel Fire Island Pines
Botel Fire Island Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing