We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beach.”

Smith Point County Park
here and there
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great beach.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Not too crowded.. Nice clean beach and great surf. Lifeguards were very attentive.
This is a county park, so you need to pay or purchase a pass.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank scubagirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We love to go to this beach because we have a 4 wheel drive permit. This permits us to go to the drive on section and we can keep everything we need with us in the car. We can also bring our dogs and everybody has a good time.

The more public part of the beach is also nice and has the usual concession restaurant and bathrooms and showers. There are often bands on weekend evenings.

There is also a campground here. It is a beautiful place to camp.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AndreaFranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“favorite beach”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

easy to get there love the beach and the water is very clean Lot of shore line to walk I have been going here for years and I am never disapointed

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank arlene l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“UPDATE: Smith Point Beach 4x4/Hurricane Sandy”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

As of April 2013, Most Long Island Outer Beaches are currently CLOSED to 4x4 traffic. Officials are indicating that Smith Point and Cupsogue outer beaches likely will not re-open this summer due to the devastation caused by Superstorm Sandy last October. Latest aerial footage shows limited or non-existent dune lines along the entire strtech, and efforts to rebuild the dune lines are ongoing. Breaches on Fire Island are being addressed, but there is little hope of gaining access to outer beach driving, either for fishermen or for day trippers/campers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank KontrolFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station, New York
Level Contributor
242 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great beach areas.”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

A place I enjoyed just walking around. I love the beach and open air of all Suffolk County beaches. Always beautiful and serene. Worth the long ride.

Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith Point County Park also viewed

 
Fire Island, Long Island
Fire Island, Long Island
 

Been to Smith Point County Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing