We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Used to be nice”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Craftsman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Craftsman Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fayetteville
concord,nc,usa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Used to be nice”
Reviewed April 30, 2008

We have stayed at the Craftsman many times since it opened, as late as last October. We assumed everything was the same, friendly people, nice free breakfast. What we found was disapointing. We waited 5 minutes for a front desk clerk to emerge from his nap, and he had the personality of an ant.Our room was ok, but the a/c made a funny noise. The houskeepers were friendly and helpful, and cleaned the room very well. The bed was comfy, the rug had stains.
We asked when breakfast was served, and they said they don't offer it any longer. None of this was communicated when I looked at their web site, or checked in. This was part of the reason we stayed there. They DID NOT lower the room price, only their cost. They said they have new owners taking over soon, and perhaps that's why things were just not great. It was evident that word has spread ,as there were only a few cars in the parking lot. Net, net, its been nice Craftsman, but so long.

  • Liked — bed
  • Disliked — poor service at front desk, elimination of breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    51
    34
    23
    12
See reviews for
59
31
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We had a nice evening at the Craftsman. Our room showed a little age and was a bit small, but then it had to hold a king size Stickley bed and furniture. Generally the place was well kept, nicely decorated, and staff were friendly and helpful. The bed and linens were outstanding! (Best hotel bed I've slept in in a long while.) I'm not sure where all those negative reviews came from. I'd stay there again.

Restaurant next door is great and offer a mix of fine dining and a "grill menu". (See their web site).

Major shopping mall across the street with an LLBean outlet, and a bunch of chain restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HimselfNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2008

I usually stay at this hotel with Business and it suits me fine..
The rooms are clean and quite large.. The bathroom is fine with a good shower and constant hot water.
The room has its own heater/ air conditioning unit so you can set to suit your own taste.. this is good as some hotels force you to be as hot or cold as they want.
I can't really comment on the location as I was travelling with a colleague on business and don't really know what the area is near to for tourists.
The hotel has a bar next door to it with a good restaurant.. breakfast is also served in there at extra cost ( around $5 - $15 depending on what you want )
The rooms have all the facilities you need like soaps, iron, hairdryer and a tv..
There is shopping mall directly opposite if you need any thing.

  • Liked — excellent, friendly service
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Scubydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

We have stayed at the Craftsman over the Thanksgiving holidays and are very dissipointed. We have been guests here for the last 12 years and were satisfied up till now. The sheets are like sandpaper, the remote for the TV had bad batteries and the on/off function was disabled. The doors on the TV hutch close while you watch TV, poorly hinged Stickley furniture. The toilet was repaired and there is a piece of plywood under its base. They are chintzy with soap, shampoo and cream rinse waiting till you squeezed the last drop out of the bottle. They do not change the sheets daily. The side door is broken, but they are not having it fixed for a few days. Free breakfasts are gone. They boost the prices on the weekend. The only reason we stayed here it is close to the four families that we visit. Otherwise there would be about 20 other choices. The walls are thin and the mattresses are hard. This used to be a friendly boutique like hotel that has hit the skids.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fred19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fayetteville hotels

Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

This place is nice from the outside, but needs an overhaul on its rooms. Hardest bed I have ever slept in at a hotel and bad pillows. Rooms are very basic.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MrTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2007

I was invited to the Craftsman Inn for a corporate event. After reading some of the reviews I was really worried. I am very picky about hotels and have left hotels not up to my standard.

Craftsman was very nice, I have no complaints. The room was newly decorated, comfortable beds, nice decorative touches. Everything worked. Very good bathroom products, soap and shampoo stuff.

The staff was pleasant and I would not hesitate to go there again.

The hotel is nicely appointed through out. The restaurant and conference facility was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pconwaynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2007

I agree with the other reviewer that gave this Inn a bad rating.

We stayed at the Craftsman for a short weekend. Thank goodness we didn't spend much time in the hotel because it was the grossest thing I have ever seen. From the outside, it looks quaint and casual. Inside the lobby is even cute. Head into the room and it's awful.

We checked in without incident. We drove around to a door that was closer to our room. As we entered and walked up the steps, there were a number of "employees" sprawled out on the steps and blocking our way. Asked to move and a serious attitude was given. When they did move, they moved a centimeter over. They were eating and had dropped crumbs and food all over the place. It was a terrible first impression.

The room looked okay until further inspection. Judging from the cleanliness of some of the employees sprawled on the steps, I understood why the bathroom was a moldy nasty mess. I never took my shoes or socks off while staying there. I don't think the bathroom has seen a true "cleaning" for a few years.

We'll never stay there again when visiting.

  • Disliked — The cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank In_Cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fayetteville
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dewitt (Syracuse)
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Syracuse - Carrier Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
#4 of 19 in East Syracuse
561 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#16 of 31 in Syracuse
412 reviews
6.8 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craftsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craftsman Inn

Property: Craftsman Inn
Address: 7300 E Genesee St, Fayetteville, NY 13066-1342
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fayetteville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Craftsman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The American Arts and Crafts Movement blossomed at the turn of the 20th century on the tree lined streets of peaceful villages in upstate New York. The movement was a personal and architectural revolt against the ornateness of the Victorian style. This Movement sparked a period of design characterized by simplicity, honestly and integrity. Here in Fayetteville, Leopold and John George Stickley created Arts and Crafts furniture using innovative construction techniques which have endured as hallmarks of the Movement. The Craftsman Inn is dedicated to these Craftsman ideals. Look around, the designs that inspire the building, the chairs and tables, the lighting and pictures, all evoke that ideal. Our Limestone Grille was launched in 2008 as the heir to our more stately Craftsman House. The Limestone reflects the 21st century evolution of these concepts as once again a desire for a simpler, truer,more authentic approach becomes prevalent. Our dining room and lounge reflect clean, Mission style design but with warm colors, classic furnishings, and contemporary appointments. Our service staff and bartenders provide friendly yet attentive service, knowledgeable without being presumptuous, helping to create the sense of relaxed comfort we all seem to miss so much of the time. That end result is what inspires us to do the best we can. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Craftsman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craftsman Hotel Fayetteville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing