We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for solo travelers...would be crowded for a family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Farmingville
JOHNBTV
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for solo travelers...would be crowded for a family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

For the most part, a great place to stay for what I needed. Personal event was about a 20-minute drive from the hotel. Nearby (walking distance) food and groceries availability.

Problems did not become apparent until checkout time. Backing up just a little bit, when I stopped at the front desk the night before checkout to pick up my safe deposit box valuables, I inquired about checkout time (planning 4:00 AM) and if somebody would be at the front desk. I was assured that somebody would indeed be there. (My personal preference is to check out IN PERSON.)

However, at just prior to 4:00 AM, after having moved my luggage to the lobby, I discovered a vacant front desk. So, I went through the hotel to the rear parking area to get my car. I drove to the front of the hotel and, lo and behold, the front doors opened by electronic sensor! (There IS an electronic key system there, presumably for the late hours, but the door was unlocked!)

That was a real concern, as the hotel takes great pains to notify its guests that there had been a recent increase in vehicular vandalism in the local area. It did not give me a warm, fuzzy feeling knowing there was NO ONE at the front desk AND the front door was UNLOCKED!

Nevertheless, a good place to stay and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHNBTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM76, General Manager at Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I apologize that the overnight staff was not present when you needed them. Certainly there are times when it may be necessary to leave the desk, thus the electronic key system for the front door. I have shared you comments to help ensure that the lock feature is used on a consistent basis for the safety of both the staff and the guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    140
    110
    57
    32
See reviews for
207
99
37
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

Exceptional staff--went out of their way to make us happy. Comfortable, clean room. Quiet--no next door noise. Good location for our needs. Great hot & cold buffet breakfast--no need to waste time or money going elsewhere. Nice indoor pool with warm water temperature. Our family enjoyed the 9 day stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkbfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM76, General Manager at Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. The addition of the make your own waffle station has been a big hit and a great addition to the hot and cold breakfast selection. I appreciate that nine days is a long time to stay in a hotel and I am glad that we were able to ensure that your stay was excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

Great place to stay: along the 10 days of my stay, I have found nothing to complain! Very clean, nice breakfast, corteous and helpful staff. A+++!

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sudastelaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM76, General Manager at Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I have shared your comments with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

My family and I Just spent a great weekend at the Hampton Inn at exit 63. The staff was so nice and accommodating and let us check in early even though check in time is not until 3:00 pm. The room was clean and spacious and the breakfast was just terrific; they even have a waffle station to make your own waffles which was a lot of fun! The kids loved the indoor pool and outdoor patio. This is a great value and we will stay with them again the next time we visit Long Island ”.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldkeyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM76, Manager at Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Thank you for your review. The waffle station has been a big hit, and a great value for traveling families
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed here to go to a funeral.Our car was broken into as well as another guest’s.The drivers window was smashed.There was nothing in the car to steal.The hotel’s attitude was you “park at your own risk”.Well how else are you going to get to the hotel .It’s on a major highway.One would think that there would be some type of security.We were told by the police that cars in the hotel parking lot were vandalized before.Not much comfort when my window was smashed and you have a long return ride

Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank bartab59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
againontheroadagain, General Manager at Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay with us. It is so unfortunate that this type of activity is happening all over Long Island, especially all of the hotels and retail outlets where guests are out of their vehicles for a prolonged period of time.

We have been in contact with the local police department and their suggestions for anyone are to remove all valuables from plain site, especially GPS units. In addition, the police suggest that you also remove any evidence that a car may contain a GPS unit, including holders, cords, and suction cup marks on the dashboard or windshield.

We have also been in contact with the other area hotels, which unfortunately also have experienced this type of activity and are all adding a note about this to the key packaging guests receive at check in.

We take this very seriously and have asked the local police department to increase the patrol units in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

Stayed here for a family function and it served its purpose. Room was spacious, however shower did not work in am. Staff was apologetic and comped the movie we watched. Wallpaper was peeling in several spaces in room. Room was quiet which is always good, and the breakfast was an unexpected plus. Nothing fancy but totally satisfactory.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linkakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM76, General Manager at Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We did experience a mechanical problem with the pressure booster pump. The pump has been replaced and we have been experiencing proper water pressure. In addition we have visited every room and addressed all maintenance issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hockytwn02
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

I was out here on business and was looking for a place to stay when an employee at Applebee’s recommended this place. I called up and they had a few vacancies left. The only rooms available were in the smoking section. As a non smoker I was not fond of this at all, but really wanted to go swimming in the pool with my son as he had joined me for the trip. There is another hotel right behind them that also had great rates and it totally non smoking, but no pool. Once I checked in and the asked the front desk a few questions that they were more than willing to answer (Christina was great) I went to my room where I was very pleased to see the simple things at a hotel were in line. They even gave me extra coffee as I’m a big coffee drinker. The breakfast was pretty good and even had a big selection of hot and cold foods to include a big selection of yogurt. The Wi-Fi was great and close to some stores and few restaurants. I loved this place and will stay again. Thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hockytwn02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmingville
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Holtsville Long Island
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Long Island Holtsville
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Medford Long Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Long Island Brookhaven
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Islandia
4.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Islip MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven

Property: Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven
Address: 2000 N Ocean Ave, Farmingville, NY 11738-2908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Farmingville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Farmingville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven Hotel Farmingville
Hampton Inn Farmingville
Farmingville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing