We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, interesting experience; Horrible payout odds”

Finger Lakes Gaming & Racetrack
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
195 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Clean, interesting experience; Horrible payout odds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Have visited Finger Lakes Racino a few times. Find its location handy, plenty of free parking in open lot with free shuttle if needed; valet parking with covered drop off for $4 if you want. The horse track is pretty and seemingly well kept with flowers. Interesting to watch the horses race. Keep in mind the horses don't race on Sunday, which we discovered on a previous visit. On this visit, we visited the Vineyard Buffet around 1:30pm on a Saturday afternoon, which they identified as "brunch". Normally $21.95 each, but you save $2 each by showing your player club card, and we also had a coupon for additional savings. The Buffet is a large, bright restaurant, and our server was kind, funny, and efficient (thanks Kimmi). The offerings were good and plentiful (surprisingly a delicious slice of prime rib) along with pasta, asian, pizza, mexican and egg and other breakfast offerings, and a dessert area. May visit the Vineyard Buffet on a subsequent visit; we hesitate as it's a bit pricey without a coupon. The comps for what $ you're putting into their machines and payouts are absolutely horrible. If you're looking for better player odds, try Seneca Niagara or Turningstone. For this Finger Lakes Racino, an average/mixed experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Snert41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Manager at Finger Lakes Gaming & Racetrack, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your in-depth review of your experience here at Finger Lakes and positive comments regarding the Vineyard Buffet. Our weekend brunch from 11-3 on Saturday and Sunday is among the most popular times for visits to the buffet.

We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon as we recently just opened a 33,000 square foot expansion. This brings us to over 1,500 machines and added a Wolfgang Puck Express to the dining options, as well as a new bar/lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,105
    548
    86
    14
    26
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“We went back!!!! Sorry!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

To start, I left a review from 5-28, I said I would never go back, well, It was raining,We enjoy Vernon Downs now, The girls wanted to go to Fingerlakes ,as it is 20 minutes closer. Arriving there,we found out we had no free play,Gold card,wrong day, Well, We all lost a total $2900
without any wins.I actually put $100 into {can not remember,the machine,but its lions in Africa]
to show my friends,watch-$2 a spin,50 spins-won 1-yes 1 dollar out of 100 bucks,Stay away,
The same amount of money you can play for hours at Vernon, And you can WIN at turning Stone,

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank bill890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Manager at Finger Lakes Gaming & Racetrack, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello, we are sorry to hear of your negative experience here at Finger Lakes regarding your luck on the machines. We would like to point out that the games and systems here are for the most part identical to Vernon where you mentioned you could play for hours. Both facilities are regulated by the NY Gaming Commission, have very similar machines and are operated in the same manner. Hopefully you will have a better run of luck if you visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blood Suckers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have been going to this casino for years, mainly because I live down the street and there isn't much to do! Well, I know there is a high chance I will lose everytime but all these years and no wins? Seems odd these slots are extermelly tight and the service sucks!!! I had a janitor lady park her smelly garbage can behind my girlfriend and I and star a 10 min conversation(not work related) with a co worker and when I asked if she could move her stinky trash from behind us she rolled her eyes and stormed off!! Very pleasant day out, take my advice go buy dinner, stuff for ur house, anything but donate to this dump which is always under construction by the way!! Me and my buddie have knicknamed this casino "The Slaughter House", where ur wallet goes to get butchered everytime!! Oh yeah btw...its like high school cafeteria food at the buffet...if ur into fiastadas and cardboard you'll love it! Enjoy:)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank nygiants2013mjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Manager at Finger Lakes Gaming & Racetrack, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Your frustration is evident within your review and we apologize for your recent experience regarding the interaction with one of our staff members. That is obviously not the level of service we expect from our staff and can understand how this would have not been a pleasant experience.

Regarding the construction that has been ongoing this year, that is all part of of our 33,000 square foot expansion which will be opening in late October. Part of that will feature a new Wolfgang Puck Express fast casual eatery. This will be the first such Wolfgang Puck location in New York outside of New York City and should be a nice enhancement to our current buffet and quick serve grill locations.

We would hope that you would give us another try once the expansion is complete. And in the future, please feel free to contact a Manager On Duty if you are experiencing any service shortcomings. That allows us to address any gaps quickly. Locating a manager is as simple as asking any staff member on the floor, or visiting the Players Club.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Day at the races”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The race track and casino has plenty of parking and even a shuttle to give you a lift to the door. it is clean and well laid out. Very welcoming. The race track was stunning with flowers and wonderful horses. Fun day in a beautiful setting

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 42421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Manager at Finger Lakes Gaming & Racetrack, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let others know of your experience at our property. A beautiful September day is often the best time to enjoy the colors and beauty of the racetrack. We appreciate you mentioning the parking lot shuttle, which was just added a few months back. As we close in on winter weather, we are sure many of our guests will find this service helpful. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“great peope and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Farmington, NY on Aug 23, 2013. Clean and comfortable. Just a couple minutes from here was the Finger Lakes Casino and Race Track. We went for the buffet but also ended up playing the slots. The lady at the buffet asked if we had been here before and we answered "no ". She sent us back to the customer service desk where they gave us coupons for $2.00 off the buffet price and $10.00each casino credit. The buffet was very good, lots of choices and outstanding service. After eating we went to the casino to use our play money and ended up winning enough to cover our dinner, two drinks and tip. This turned out to be a very pleasant evening. Not knowing a lot about how these things operate we found a floor walker who guided us around and explained everything. Other businesses could learn about customer service from this experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck13108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Manager at Finger Lakes Gaming & Racetrack, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for stopping by and seeing us during your recent visit to the area. We place a high value on customer service and are glad that you saw that during your visit.

Sounds like you made a nice evening out of it. Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finger Lakes Gaming & Racetrack also viewed

 

Been to Finger Lakes Gaming & Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing