We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Night that Sandy hit Long Island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Republic Airport Long Island/Farmingdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Republic Airport Long Island/Farmingdale
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Farmingdale
Certificate of Excellence
long island
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Night that Sandy hit Long Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We made our reservation on the Thursday before the hurricane Sandy hit Long Island.We decide to check into the hotel around 3pm on October 29 2012 because we usually lose our electricity during major wind storms and this storm was predicted to be a real major storm. I called the hotel before we left to find out if they had a backup generator. They indicated they did have one.We check in around 3:30pm and was watching the television and looking out the windows when the power went out around 5pm. We left our room and saw that the hallways and lobby all had lights. Went to the front desk and they said that their generator only provided power to the general areas and not to the individual rooms.Lesson learned .Decided to stay for the night and to check out in the morning. Got up early and went down to the lobby where a free hot breakfast was being given out to all. We had our breakfast and checked out. I believe that the hotel staff did a great job under the circumstances. I am sure under normal conditions they would perform even better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethpage28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    61
    21
    8
    10
See reviews for
56
34
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stay at the hotel regularly when in Farmingdale with work. While the staff have always been very accomodating and helpful, they really upped the service during the week after Sandy. Congratulations to all involved and thanks for all the extra efforts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrscmac2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked three rooms for family to wait out the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. The staff tries extra hard to keep their guests comfortable. The hotel lost power for three of the seven days, but they have a back up generator for the common spaces and moderate heating. So even though our room was dark at night with a flash light you could change and go to bed. The usual hot breakfast was replaces with a small supply of hot food and when that ran out, cold cereal, milk, fruit and cereal bars. They offered some sandwhiches at around 5 pm complimentary since they could not make hot meals for dinner. The bar was busy in the evening, people entertained them selves in the common areas, and the staff did their best to make their guest comfortable. They did not increase their rates during this hard time to make extra mony off people in need. It was reported that many other hotels were doing just that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank designit2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
292 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Updated, fresh new style look of courtyard. Very clean, well laid out and close to all restaurants and shopping. a great stay when you're in central long island. Always a good choice with marriott, can't go wrong

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrem99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a wedding to attend on sat. sept.29th so we booked a room for a couple nights at the Marriott in Farmingdale NY. and I am from MD.The hotel was 2 miles from an airport which was convenient. The staff was so nice, they even told us how to get into the city of Manhatten. They have a shuttle that takes you to the train station.There was 3 weddings leaving from that hotel that day.We started out our morning with their $10.00 breakfast buffet which included everything. After the wedding we were so exausted, we fell into a cloud, thats what the beds felt like after the wonderful hot shower.We were up the next morning for a trip into the city. This hotel was wonderful and a nice location.There are so many restaurants nearby and a superwalmart right behind the hotel incase you forgot something.So you won't go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: I liked the King size bedroom. We had room 400
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 283Tammy1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I live on Long Island, so there is no real reason for me to stay at this hotel for more than one night. However, this hotel was very clean and the employees were very courteous and kind, so I wouldn't mind it if I had to stay longer.

My only issues were that the bed was not very comfortable for me and the shower head came out of hole in the wall with no hardware to cover it.

Room Tip: They offer a AAA discount, have a shuttle and Daniel was helpful at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. Breakfast was not included but was good and the service was great.
Room was clean and big. So was the bathroom.
Just beware that breakfast is not a part of the room price.
There is a golf driving range right across .
Just walk there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steyr1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmingdale
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
2.4 mi away
Hilton Long Island/Huntington
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bar Harbour Inn
BEST WESTERN Bar Harbour Inn
#1 of 1 in Massapequa Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Melville Marriott Long Island
4.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton
Four Points by Sheraton
#3 of 6 in Plainview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
7.9 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Republic Airport Long Island/Farmingdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Republic Airport Long Island/Farmingdale

Property: Courtyard Republic Airport Long Island/Farmingdale
Address: 2 Marriott Plz, Farmingdale, NY 11735-3950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Farmingdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Farmingdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Republic Airport Long Island/Farmingdale 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Republic Airport Long Island/Farmingdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Republic Airport Long Island/Farmingdale Hotel Farmingdale
Courtyard Farmingdale
Farmingdale Marriott
Farmingdale Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing