We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Flight on the C-47, “Second Chance”

Although this review is not about the museum, it is about a flight that I took on their C-47... read more

Reviewed August 14, 2023
Dave H
Great Museum

Yesterday I had the opportunity to visit the American AirPower Museum and take a flight on a T-6... read more

Reviewed August 12, 2023
lawrenceo514
,
Long Island, New York
via mobile
Read all 150 reviews
  
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
111
32
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
111
32
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on display aviation history all ages vintage planes world war tuskegee airmen tram ride gift shop tour guides are great collection real planes few hours great place to visit republic volunteers exhibits wars
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 150 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

Greeted upon entry, welcomed and thanked for attending. Then volunteer Steve cheerfully greeted and welcomed us. We were given a detailed walk through of each aircraft and their significance in our country's history. His 30 years of teaching history resonated with us a history buffs!. There was an outside component as well of some really cool aircraft. While outside we witnessed aircraft take-off and arrive...I watched a helicopter "hover", then land. This experience also included a beautiful United States of America flag paying tribute to those lost on 9/11. There is a wonderful gift shop, soda machines and snack machine. A must visit also to see the signatures of the actual pilots of the aircraft. By the way "Rosie the riveter" representing women in history.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Fndolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
S C, Public Relations Manager at American Airpower Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our museum. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. More importantly hearing from our visitors on how they truly learn something while visiting makes us know that what we do means something. To preserve and educate future generations. Again we thank you for visiting and your support, and we hope to have you visit us again, possibly during one of our larger flying events in the Spring and Summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016

Having lived on Long Island my entire life I truly have an appreciation for aviation and its roots here. The AAM truly embraces Long Island's heritage and place in this history. The staff is top notch and very knowledgeable, the collection is considerable and also very interactive. Many aircraft from the Republic as well as Grumman production lines are on display, and you don't feel rushed as you walk through the museum. The simulator for an extra $10 was well worth it. $10 for adults and $5 for kids truly can't be beat. My 8 year old son had a blast and loved the historical tidbits the docents would give about particular aircraft.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank GK1Impulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
S C, Public Relations Manager at American Airpower Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our museum on trip advisor. We are so happy to hear that you and your son enjoyed your visit, and that our docents made it that much better! As someone who is local we hope to see you back soon, and don't forget to follow us on FB, and the web for information on larger flying type events throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

This is an incredible place where during airshow weekend almost everything flies, it is amazing place to see our history in use.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank derf2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

I went here many years ago with my 7-yr old son. My son loves this place. They have so much WW1 and WW2 memorabilia and airplane history. Loved going in the DC-9 and pretending to be paratroopers. Definitely a must if you like military/airplane history.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank jlipp5240
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

We did this on a whim to kill an hour or so. We've been here about three and a half hours so far. My wife is up in a airplane our grandson is having a blast and so am I. I'm not even an airplane nut and this thing is just so cool and interesting. If you're near here you gotta do it

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews