We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed with this place”
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
Ranked #11 of 130 Restaurants in Farmingdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had no real plans for dinner but it was close to the hotel so we said why not; glad we did! The portions were plentiful and tasted great! My wife had the Chicken Tuscany and I had the parmesan. The garlic bread was magnificent and the sorbet was the bomb! We will probably be eating here for the next few days, but I wish we had one down in FL. I recommend this place highly!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank johnluriejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed our fresh-from-scratch menu items! (And we do have 2 locations in Florida in the Orlando area if that helps - see houlihan's.com for more info.) We look forward to serving you again soon! - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

Dinner for our family of three was enjoyable. We were seated promptly and a server came to take our order. It took a little longer than we expected to have our dinner served, but that might have been attributed to the World Cup being on and everyone watching it including the staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ontheroadagain27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves, and always appreciate getting any feedback that can help us improve. We look forward to serving you again soon. - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

I came to Houlihan's for the first time for lunch and it was a pleasant experience. We came and were seated immediately, our server was pleasant and quick with drinks and not pushy to get us out. There was four of us and all of the food was very good I would recommend the chicken parmesan definitely a great dish. I wouldn't mind getting that as a platter for catering. My only gripe would be that the restaurant itself was too cold. Other than that I had a wonderful experience from the service to the food quality, bottom line I would come back and recommend it to others.

Thank Jake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our made-from-scratch menu items (and appreciate you letting us know about the temperature.) We look forward to serving you again soon! - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We waited 45 minutes for a table (our request) on a very busy Friday night. The host staff was very congenial and accommodating. Upon being seated our server immediately came to our table. We were there for a birthday celebration and it couldn't have been better! Our server, Tommy Stahl, was extremely attentive and personable. The food was good and prepared to order. We didn't order dessert as we were too full, however, Tommy appeared with a candle-lit brownie sundae so we could sing Happy Birthday. All in all a wonderful experience largely in part to Tommy!

Thank Barb619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us (and happy birthday!) We're so glad you enjoyed your special day with us, and we look forward to serving you again soon. - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Their usually a wait on Friday nights, the food is a good value. The wait and bar staff are efficient and friendly . The manager makes it a point to stop by our table to insure that everything is to our satisfaction.

Thank thumphrey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're glad to hear you enjoy our made-from-scratch menu items, and our hospitality. We look forward to serving you again soon! - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

Farmingdale, Long Island
Farmingdale, Long Island
 
Farmingdale, Long Island
Farmingdale, Long Island
 
Farmingdale, Long Island
Farmingdale, Long Island
 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing