We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hamburgers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
Ranked #9 of 126 Restaurants in Farmingdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Farmingdale, New York
Level Contributor
201 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Hamburgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The meals are so consistent between their restaurants. I first had one of their great burgers at their restaurant on International Dr in Orlando. They are fantastic. Now all they have to do is get Coke Zero and this place is unbeatable. I will return every time I am in town!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi, we're so glad you like the burgers! (We like 'em, too.) Thanks for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    21
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ronkonkoma, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Home cooked meal, good selection, good ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My friends and i went shopping and decided to go to Houlihan's for lunch. I like the fact that they have small plates, if you want a smaller sampling of an appetizer (saving calories!) and they also offer their favorites in both Lunch and Dinner portions. My friends had the Mandarin Chicken Salad. While they enjoyed it, they both said there wasn't a lot of chicken. I had the lunch portion of the Down Home Pot Roast (2nd time i've had this). It was delicious. There was plenty of food for a lunch portion and it came with very creamy whipped potatoes and veggies. We also had the small plate version of the "Just Shrooms" appetizer, which gave you 3 pieces and was perfect for 3 people. They are delicious! The server was attentive and the bill was not very expensive. They also have a nice atmosphere, considering it's a chain restaurant like a TGIF, Applebees, Bennigans, etc. I think it's one of the higher class chain restaurants.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Guest Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for the nice comments. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Salads”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Salads are fresh and very delicious. I had the crusted chicken with a balsamic vinegar dressingg and crumbled blue cheese. The steak was cook to desired temp. Only snafu was waitress was not confident when asking about menu items and a wee biit slow on cocktails, but that could be the bar.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, new york
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

This venue seems to be a gathering place for after-work. It's always bustling with what seems to be business people & the young adult crowd. That isn't a critique, just what seems to be the norm. Service always good, staff very friendly & prices are competitive.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sonnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“This restaurant is not that good at all!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

I was surprised to see that this restaurant had three 5 star reviews. I have eaten here many times mostly late on Sunday or Monday nights when I fly into NY and need a late meal close to my hotel. The food is mostly consistent but the service here SUCKS. If it were not for the fact that this is the only place open after 10 pm and close to my hotel at that time I would never have continued to eat here. Most of the waitresses and bartenders have a healthy helping of bad attitude. I can only recollect 2 or three times out of many where I had a decent service experience here. If you do decide to tempt fate and eat here the buffalo chicken sandwich and thai chicken wings are good but of course offset by the service. If only for the service.....

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

Farmingdale, Long Island
Farmingdale, Long Island
 
Farmingdale, Long Island
Farmingdale, Long Island
 
Farmingdale, Long Island
Farmingdale, Long Island
 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing