We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Cactus Mexican Grille - CLOSED

Blue Cactus Mexican Grille
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant and overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Until the check arrived at the end of the meal, I was pleased with the New York twist to Mexican food. The dining area is pleasant, but the staff seemed a bit rushed... perhaps someone was off for the evening. But check it out... if you're not on a budget.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDuckDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    10
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Churchville, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mexican food at it's best, even with food allergies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My daughter and I eat at this restaurant almost every Saturday afternoon because they special make a vegetarian fahita salad that is the best I have ever eaten. They make their own salsa (3 kinds) and bean salsa and chios you can buy and take home. The manager and his wife are from Mexico and the food IS authientic, not TEX MEX! They make homemade cilantro sour cream dressing! The cook makes special orders on request. My daughter has food allergies, yet the cook was able to make what she wanted without foods that she is allergic to and it still tasted great! If you want to "have it your way" eat at this restaurant. You won't get this taste anywhere else!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I can only comment on the fish tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Never had fish tacos before and my date recommended them. They were very good, I would go back again just to order them. You get 3 served with shredded cabbage, salsa, refried
black beans, crema agria and rice for $15. My date had the VERACRUZ Platanos with crema agria, bean salad sope, rajas empanada served with Mexican rice and refried black turtle beans for $12. She wanted to try something different but I would pass on that one myself. We also had margaritas, they were pretty good, $6 each. Nice location, great for a walk along the canal afterwards. A lot going on down there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Blue Cactus leaves a thorn in my side!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Easily the absolute worst meal i have ever had! The decor and atmosphere were nice but the food was severely lacking! The Ceviche was warm, the pork tacos tasted like South Carolina style pulled pork barbecue. The salsa tasted like it came out of a can. It seems the owner is focused more on being trendy and having a pretty place rather than focusing on the food. To add insult to injury the prices are ridiculously high, 3 dishes of salsa and chips(yes they charge for the chips and salsa $8 for 3 small dishes) 4 pork tacos 1 beef taco and ceviche was $45, which wouldn't be bad if the food was good. I have eaten Mexican food extensively in Mexico ,Texas and many places in NY and have never been this disappointed. If you want Mexican look elsewhere there are many better options within a short drive. I have had much better food from taco trucks in texas

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“SOOOO GOOD!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Mexican food is so much more than tacos. This place has the best mole, empanadas, and the guacamole is out of this world! Love the sopapillas. Hopefully Rochestarians can appreciate real Mexican food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Treena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Cactus Mexican Grille also viewed

 
Fairport, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing