We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fairport Institution”

Riki's Family Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 99 Restaurants in Fairport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A Fairport Institution”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

When my daughter was in college and had not come home for breaks at the same times as some of her friends, she would get texts from her friends -- "Come home, we can't go to Riki's without you! Riki's is what some people would consider a dive, but around here, it's where to go for breakfast! The "window special", which is available Mon. - Fri. till 11:00 except holidays, is only $2.95 for two eggs, toast and a mound of home fries. We love it, the town loves it, everyone is happy., it really is "the place to meet and greet" because you always see someone you know! (Well, if you live here, you do!) The place is small, sometimes there is a line, but they have managed to squeeze in lots of seating! Always lots of waitresses, so you don't have to wait long for your food, and you always feel like you can relax, it's just that kind of place. Great home cooking. My dad always wants to go there when he visits; he loves the waffle with blueberry, whipped cream and ice cream -- for breakfast! He only does it every few years, but boy, does he look forward to it! Just this morning we went there and I had the Eggs Benedict, which were excellent and reasonably priced. Anyway, breakfast, lunch and dinner, it's always a great place to go.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    43
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothin' fancy, but man is it good!”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Great little family restaurant. Riki's doesn't look like much from the outside, and even inside is it's plain. But then again, it doesn't pretend to be anything other than a good family restaurant with a friendly and inviting atmosphere. We stopped there for lunch based on other reviews and were not disappointed. Riki's has a good basic menu, friendly service, and the food is terrific. My spouse ordered a salad topped with marinated grilled chicken. Instead of the usual couple of strips of chicken on a bed of lettuce with a tomato slice that you often get at chain restaurants, this salad was a large bowl of greens, with a full chicken breast cut into thirds, lots of tomato and cucumber, and an ample portion of Greek dressing on the side. My Reuben sandwich came with plenty of corned beef and a large side of french fries (other options were macaroni salad or soup). Bottomless cups of good coffee made this a very filling lunch. We'd go there again next time we're in Fairport.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_from_Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, N.Y.
Level Contributor
295 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Most Excellent Family Restaurant”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Over the years we've eaten at Riki's a number of times. The food is always excellent, the staff always very friendly, the atmosphere homey, the prices reasonable. I prefer this to the shiny chain monstrosities any day!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gtennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“do not go to this place”
Reviewed February 21, 2011

my friend and I went there for breakfast Sunday morning-- the owner told us to leave the restaurant after we had been there for 1 .5 hr. he told us we had been there too long! We were astounded. There was nobody waiting for a table. I told him that we are never going there again and he said thank you. Our waitress even said that he is a jerk!!!! What a way to start the day... Did you get up on the wrong side of the bed????

  • Visited February 2011
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank kobe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Breakfast done right”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Very traditional, nothing exotic or special, just an excellent breakfast that was made by someone who knew what they were doing, and didn't cut corners on quality ingredients. Service friendly and efficient.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChesterArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riki's Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Fairport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Riki's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing