We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chinese, Thai, Vietnamese, Vegetarian, Gluten Free - allow extra time to read the menu!”

Golden Phoenix Chinese
Ranked #34 of 97 Restaurants in Fairport
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Victor, NY
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Chinese, Thai, Vietnamese, Vegetarian, Gluten Free - allow extra time to read the menu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Most places that try to do too much, excel at a few and fail at the rest. NOT SO with Golden Phoenix. We've yet to have a bad selection, including appetizers. And we've brought our vegetarian and "hot and spicy" friends along and they're all amazed at the selections!

Place has nice decor and extra special wait staff...definitely a winner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank db_victorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Service terrible. Waited more than 1l2 hr to be acknowledged and waited on. Walked out. Has happened several times. Guess they don't like serving a person alone. Went across the street and found an excellent little Asian place there. Have gone back since and never returned to GP.

Helpful?
Thank Anne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
177 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Visiting my children in Rochester . They took me for Chinese food.
The food was great. We had hot and sour soup, egg rolls, sesame beef,Tao chicken and moo shoo vegetable. All of the dishes were delicious. The service was good. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great take out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Been getting takeout from here for years. Superb lomein and fried rice. Cashew chicken used to be great but now I would say ok. Moved to sesame chicken instead, which is good. Did not realize change in ownership (since we just use take out) but have noticed that main dishes not as good as we had become accustomed to. Dining room has always been blah and bathrooms always sketchy. We still do take out cause the fried rice and lomein are still great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best in Chinese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Yep, that;s all there is...it's the best darn Chinese restaurant in the Rochester area. My wife and I love this place. Many times we travel the 40 miles round trip to get take out. Every Chinese dish we enjoy the Golden Phoenix does extremely well. It is typical in its decor but the service is good and very fast. It is a MUST for lovers of oriental cuisine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sneakaway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Phoenix Chinese also viewed

Fairport, Finger Lakes
Fairport, Finger Lakes
 
Fairport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Golden Phoenix Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing