We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to end a very hot humid day”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fair Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pleasant Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fair Haven
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I drove up to Fair Haven last night with a friend to catch the sunset and have dinner on the water. The best place to do this is Pleasant Beach Hotel. It had been a very hot humid uncomfortable day at home and we had hoped to find some relief from that.

The light on the water was just perfect for a photo shoot that my friend wanted to do. The sunset did not disappoint us and neither did the dinner.

We ordered the salmon and the haddock dinners which included two side dishes. We choose the salad bar and garlic smashed potatoes . The wait staff was great and the food very good.

We both said we would be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jlpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 45 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

Made to order included breakfast. Cozy rooms with sleep # beds. Fun nightime atmosphere. Great food for any meal! Close to Fair Haven State Park. Walking distance to other bars and main street. Lovely view!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank El K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I loved this place. More like a B & B than a hotel, but it has kept the 100 year old name, "Pleasant Beach Hotel". If you appreciate history, you will find the "junktique" style of decorating very interesting. We were shocked by the "made to order" breakfast after having continental breakfast in every other place we stayed. Hospitality, character and nostalgia. Was just looking for a place to stay, but this really a "destination", not just a room. Didn't want to leave!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank TandPSouthPark_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

If you are looking for snooty, uptight or pretentious, this is NOT for you! The Pleasant Beach Hotel is a hidden jewel,complete with unmatched views of the lake, exceptional food and drink and a staff that makes you right at home. The second floor wrap-around balcony has comfy chairs and a great hammock that make the perfect place to enjoy a cup of coffee and watch the activity on the bay. The owners fix you the best breakfast you will ever have, and it is served in a cozy dining room or out on the lakefront deck. Little Sodus Bay is great for boating and there is deep water dock space available. We found excellent shopping in nearby Skaneatles, cute stores downtown, a wonderful state park... When you are ready to eat, don't miss the stuffed shrimp! Our waiter, Michael, brings his macaw to sit on the deck. This is a beautiful, friendly, happy place and we cannot wizt to return! The rooms are super comfy and each is uniquely furnished the owner's collection of antiques. Sleep number beds and fresh coffee in the hall makes for an excellent morning.Thank you, Bonnie and H, and your amazing staff-you are the most excellent of hosts!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different. The owners very thoughtfully provide a toy chest for the kids and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dahlgren_ILLakelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This place took my breath away. When I first walked around the rooms and met the people in the restaurant and the owners, I could not stop smiling. If quaint is what you're looking for, this is definitely the plqce to go. After a week in dc and nyc, 4 nights here by the lake were exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KOnTheRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We loved this place. Lots of cozy chairs to sit out and watch a sunset by Little Sodus Bay. As an Oswego native I was so happy to find a place nearby where we could relax, and then we got great tips about a good boat rental so we got to be out on the lake as well. The state park is right nearby--great swimming. The price was very affordable, the beds Sleeo Number-- were amazing. Breakfast included and yummy. We are going back this summer and look forward to becoming regulars. Also a bar and dinners.

Room Tip: Two rooms - one big enough for a small family and another one - right on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annmelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 5 year anniversary. Our room was very nice (yellow with a multicolored quilt. It was pretty clean, too. The window didn't open, but there was a steady stream of air conditioning blowing in and a ceiling fan. The Sleep Number bed was fun to use, too! Meals were delicious! We ate breakfast and dinner there. The chicken with pesto and provolone is yummy, and so is the linguine with pesto and chicken. The owners, Bonnie and H, were extremely welcoming and kind. The atmosphere is very relaxed. If you like to sleep late, don't plan on it. Coffee is waiting outside the rooms early, and the other people staying there didn't seem to know how to use morning voices. Both mornings I awoke before 7:30, and not by my choice. The view is absolutely beautiful! The staff is friendly and accomodating. Walls are thin, just be aware if you're planning on making some noise. Cable TV in the rooms and free Wi-Fi. Price is very reasonable. I highly recommend this as a place to stay and hope we will return in the future! Oh, some things that aren't mentioned on the website but that you might be wondering: hotel towels and washcloths are provided and so are bars ofh otel soap. Bring your own shampoo and other toiletries. You get an individual key to your room so you can lock it up when you're not there in case you leave valuables in the room. There is a small dog and his name is Elliot - he is very lovable and sweet! Enjoy :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plainjane129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fair Haven
17.2 mi away
K&G Lodge
K&G Lodge
#6 of 11 in Oswego
74 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Oswego Hotel And Conference Center
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oswego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baldwinsville/Syracuse
21.8 mi away
The Red Mill Inn
The Red Mill Inn
#1 of 2 in Baldwinsville
102 reviews
13.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Beach Hotel

Address: 14477 Fancher Avenue, PO Box 608, Fair Haven, NY 13064
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Fair Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fair Haven
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing