We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place-very comfortable and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Leray-Watertown
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evans Mills
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great place-very comfortable and clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

close to restaurants and shopping and route 81
rooms were very comfortable beds were clean bathroom great
small kitchen is great and very adequate
reception was friendly

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWS_GM_13637, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Leray-Watertown, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forwrad to welcoming you back again sometime!

Christy Zawatski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    14
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
13
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

Poor insulation between floors. I have staying here all of April and still have another month to go before I get a peaceful nights sleep at home. Apparently this Pet Friendly hotel allow dogs in all rooms as opposed to an assigned floor or area.The family staying above me have a barking dog and young children both who are constantly running and dropping items on the floor late into the night. At times it like the Calgary Stampede. For the last 4 nights I have asked to be moved. At first management told me the family is only here for 2 nights, and then we will try to move you. In the Future I will only stay here or any Candlewood Suites if on the top floor, unless I bring my dog and grandkids.

Room Tip: If you have no Pets DEMAND A ROOM on the Top Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicBertsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWS_GM_13637, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Leray-Watertown, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We do try to accommodate families on first floor rooms to prevent the noise from traveling through to guests below. We do tend to stay very busy, so this is somtimes difficult. We would be happy to accommodate any requests like yours.

Christy Zawatski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

I would not recommend staying at this hotel unless you want to stay at a place with a rude staff and housekeeping that doesn't do their job correctly. Let me begin with the staff. EXTREMELY rude. They were loud and obnoxious in the hallways during the early hours of the morning. They would stand around talking loudly, laughing obnoxiously, cussing, not caring what they were saying or who heard them. They were talking and acting as if they were not in a public place. The front desk were very snooty. The fourth day we were there, my room key was not working, and I needed to get into my room since I had a basket full of laundry, so I asked if they could help me get into my room. The lady pretty much snatched the key from my hand, programmed it, and then gave it back to me without one word. I said thank you, I received a, "Mmhm." She didn't even look up from what she was doing or smiled once. She was piling papers at the desk. She made me feel like I was a bother just by asking for help with my key. I understand people have off days, but come on. That was just beyond rude. I was shocked at how rude the staff was, honestly. I read reviews about how nice Candlewood was, which is why we chose to stay, but our stay was anything but enjoyable when our room didn't get the attention from housekeeping that we were guaranteed and when staff was unfriendly. I was told that our room would get "full" cleans and "light" cleans, but the time that we stayed, our sheets were not changed except once, and that's because I, MYSELF, tore the sheets off the beds and threw them in a pile on the floor before housekeeping came, so they had no choice BUT to change the sheets. I also noticed that they sometimes did not change our old towels for new ones, rather they picked up the old ones from the floor and folded them as if they were clean. I could tell because some were still damp when I'd go to use one. As for cleanliness, I'm not sure what cleaners they're using but it makes the entire room smell terribly. I went and bought a couple air fresheners to get rid of the smell. The bath tub had scum buildup. I felt as if I needed to clean the place myself, which most of the time, during our stay, I did. I was not pleased with this hotel. I definitely think that management and housekeeping need to work on their attitudes and how they do their jobs but that's just my opinion.

The only positive thing I have to say is there's a Walmart within walking distance, located right next to Candlewood, not to mention some restaurants nearby, and Fort Drum is close by. Less than a five minute drive to main post and about a fifteen minute drive to the airfield.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DeirdreMazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

This is an extended stay hotel with a good functional mini-kitchen. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was nice size. Upon arrival, the bathroom needed some attention (clogged drain, moldy shower curtain, and some other minor details.) I gave the front desk a list before I left the property one morning and when I returned in the afternoon, all had been taken care of. About the only thing I did not like about the room was an uncomfortable desk chair and a small work station. They do not provide breakfast, but with the kitchen and a nearby Super Walmart, it was easy enough to make my own breakfast. Because it is an extended stay hotel, housekeeping is on a limited basis, but when they did tidy up the room, they did a good job. They also have a good laundry room with free washers and dryers and a small workout facility that is in good condition. Nothing fancy about this property, but it is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stone711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

The service was poor. They held funds in my checking account because I didn't arrive before 9pm. If you use a debit card that will be about $140-$170 that will be tied up until they do the actual billing a couple of days after check out. I was not happy. There was no breakfast besides the frozen sandwich that could be purchased. No pool. No hottub. Nothing in particular special. The bathroom door wouldn't lock. The bed was harder than a board. I can say that I think even though very new the hotel was built with cheap products. It was evident in the trim in the rooms. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone!

Is right across the street from Fort Drum. I liked it's close proximity to Fort Drum but that was all I liked about it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AwayaVideoShops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

Overall good experience. Room was very clean and comfortable for the price. Had access to free internet, laundry room and fitness center. Unfortunately, there is no continental breakfast at this hotel. They do occasionally offer free food for their guests. It's a little pricey (139.99/night) considering there isn't much to do in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gara56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWS_GM_13637, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Leray-Watertown, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you for your review. I appreciate you taking the time to share with other guests your view on Candlewood Suites Watertown/Fort Drum. We strive to provide oustanding service and accommodations. I hope that you get the chance to visit us again soon.

Christy Zawatski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

On a recent Tuesday, Wednesday stay at this Candlewood Suites I was very disappointed in the whole experience. The room was dirty, the staff was not friendly, the room was cramped, there was no breakfast in the morning, and the only amenity that was in the room was a bottle of conditioning shampoo. This place needs some major overhaul in every department. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cguillau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evans Mills
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Evans Mills/Fort Drum
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Calcium Near Fort Drum
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Watertown
Hampton Inn Watertown
#2 of 14 in Watertown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
18.4 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Leray-Watertown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Leray-Watertown

Property: Candlewood Suites Leray-Watertown
Address: 26513 Herrrick Dr., Evans Mills, NY 13637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Evans Mills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evans Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Leray-Watertown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know what you need. Extended-stay travelers play by different rules and need a hotel that understands their unique needs. Candlewood Suites - Evans Mills/Leray/Watertown is designed from the ground up ... just for you. Just minutes from Watertown, Evans Mills,Leray and Fort Drum. Candlewood Suites gives you the amenities that make you feel at home. Fully equipped suites, room to spread out, space to work and space to relax. Plus, there s great shopping, dining and exciting entertainment at Salmon Run Mall just a short drive away. When it s time to get connected we know what you need 'free high speed Internet', cable, sports and movie channels. And when you need to burn some energy the fully equipped fitness center will help melt the stress away. When you come to Watertown we know what you need. Candlewood Suites is your best stay ... for a week, a month or even a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Leray-Watertown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Leray-Watertown Hotel Evans Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing