We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Restored Inn on Lake Champlain,NY”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Essex
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Essex B&B and Inns
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Restored Inn on Lake Champlain,NY”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Actually, The Essex Inn in Essex NY is across the street from the lake, on a very quiet street. Circa 1812---restored and renovated.Just perfect. They call the area "The Adirondack Coast"! Maybe they have 6 or 7 rooms, ours was #1 ---a large corner room with queen size bed, fresh white linens and down comforter . Large, new bath room with a spacious shower (no tub). Fireplace and sofa with flat screen TV. Easy access to the second floor porch with several tables and chair; which extends the entire length of the inn---overlooking the street and shops and glimpses of Lake Champlain. A two minute walk to the lakeshore and neighborhood park. The chef, Josh Archer is a clever wonderful creator of great meals---we had the "Delavan" Platter for two for $55 (who or why "Delavan"--we dont know, nor did the servers Lynn and Alex--and we forgot to ask the chef the next morning) It had a huge lobster tail, cooked perfectly, a large sirloin steak--cooked to my request: medium rare--which is pretty red but hot in temperature; a crab cake; two Black and Blue Clams Casino ( a clever invention with blue cheese and some cajun spices) garlic mashed potatos and tender steamed and seasoned pea pods. a small salad for each of us preceded the main course---veggies and housemade dressings were excellent. There are three dining room, one with a loveseat and two chairs for seating-to accomodate 4, just the two of us- we sat there as the wooden benches and chairs in the tavern might not be as comfy. Also, in that dining room is a table for 4 or 6 with large upholstered chairs. There also is seating in the popular Tavern room--all redone with Adirondack theme--booths, small tables and several large high top tables. and then another small dining area in another room off the Tavern . Lovely, any season of the year. Continental breakfast is included, but if the Inn is not busy they chef may be able to make eggs, pancakes etc. We had the luck to be the only ones there, and requested a late full breakfast at 10:30 am. The Inn also has bicycles and kayaks for rent.

Room Tip: They only have one room with a king size bed. Our queen was certainly fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    13
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
24
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The beautifully, and tastefully renovated Essex, NY landmark did a superb job hosting a recent cocktail party my wife and I gave to honor our 2012 college scholarship recipient. The 2 hour event featured "heavy Hors d'oeuvres " from Chef Josh, including freshly opened, succulent oysters, shrimp and an array of terrific hot items. The wonderful Adirondack rustic "Tavern" proved a warm and inviting venue and the service was first rate.

Clint and Lawson

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Essex's Inn is a gem on the Adirondack Coast! Located in town of Essex which provides ferry service year round across Lake Champlain, this is the perfect lodging experience to get a flavor of the Lake Champlain area.

We stayed in the cheapest room which was small but served our needs given it was visiting day at our daughter's camp in Willsboro. The place was just renovated and done well blending comfort without losing character and charm. Clean and comfortable but what sets this place apart are the little fine touches. A continental breakfast that is included, which needs some work but was passable. A small bottle of wine with glasses is complimentary and the Archers as innkeepers are better hosts than if you stayed with family. Snacks, water and coffee are always available. We didn't get to eat at inn but when we arrived it was rockin with a prix fix dinner for $25!!! We paid that for one entree with nothing included in Bolton's Landing.
The real treat was the live entertainment in garden area. Blues guitarist who was terrific. Essex Inn is quite a gem!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Degalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a beautiful quaint Hotel in the town of Essex. Lake Champlain is across the street and the atmosphere is charming. I stayed in their least expensive room and it was perfect for our one night stay. Breakfast was excellent ... more than we could eat. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here on a bike trip. It was a last-minute call. We had reservations at another place down the road (see separate review) that was a disaster. We called the Essex about 6pm, saying we were 15 miles away by bike... they were pleasant, helpful, and saved us a room. When we arrived, there had been mixup with another staff, and they'd given our room to someone else-- but, after a short consultation, agreed to put us in a more expensive room for the same price. The price, I'll note, is pretty steep. We were tired (had biked about 70 miles) and hungry, and it was worth it to us at that point-- but if we'd been planning ahead and thinking critically, it probably would've put us off. The room was very pleasant (though a little less "vintage" than the exterior suggests) and a demi-bottle of wine waiting for us there was unbelievably welcome. After fabulous showers we had a great dinner in their restaurant (though again, the drinks were more NYC prices...) and had a great sleep. Breakfast, great too. Everyone was super-helpful; they even offered to keep our bikes in their storage area. Other people around were friendly, too. In the morning we took our bikes on the ferry across to VT. That night had started as a lowlight of the trip, but turned into a highlight.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Lessee/Business and Operations Owner at Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your nice review, Dan. It was very much our privilege to be able to be a "refuge" for you both that day! During the summer months, we now offer our guests a complimentary Innkeeper's welcome wine and cookies reception (in addition to the demi-bottle in the individual rooms that you found so delightful!) We've also added a small butler's pantry, with complimentary snacks for our guests to enjoy after a weary day of traveling. We're so glad that Essex was a highlight for your trip, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a quiet and peaceful getaway from NYC to celebrate our anniversary so we decided on this newly restored inn in the picturesque town of Essex in the Adirondacks. Wow! What a pleasant stay we had! The inn is small and quaint and you could feel the history in the building and in the area, but it is so beautifully redone you do not miss out on any of the comforts you would expect from any luxury hotel. The room we stayed in (Room1) was very comfortable, clean and spacious! We loved the fireplace in the room and used it quite a bit. The Inn is located on the town's main street very close to beautiful Lake Champlain. We only wish we could have stayed longer (we were only there for 3 days)! The breakfast was delicious and the restaurant is very popular and serves some of the best food you can get in the area. The service is excellent and so friendly. There is always someone in the inn or just a phone call away if we needed them. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgtsuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickson City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The Essex Inn exceeded our expectations in more ways than one. The Inn is quaint yet modern and the restauraunt dining room inviting and intimate. We stayed in room 6 which was spacious and decorated Adirondack style with a large redone bathroom. We had a fantastic dinner Saturday night and a breakfast waiting for us in the morning. What a great place to truly feel like you "got away"! We will definitely be returning to The Essex Inn. I almost forgot to mention the excellent service every step of the way.

Room Tip: Every room seems to have a little bit different of a style, but I would be happy to stay in any of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Lessee/Business and Operations Owner at Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We appreciate your kind review, Kathryn! We work diligently to create a relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere for our Inn guests and dining patrons, and we look forward to hosting you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
9.7 mi away
The Inn in Westport
The Inn in Westport
#1 of 3 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
7.9 mi away
Basin Harbor
Basin Harbor
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
7.8 mi away
Heart of the Village Inn
Heart of the Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Shelburne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Inn at Charlotte Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast

Property: Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast
Address: 2297 Main Street, Essex, NY 12936
Location: United States > New York > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast has undergone a complete renovation that has transformed this nearly 200-year old landmark into the crown jewel of the Lake Champlain region. The Inn offers elegant overnight accommodations in beautifully appointed rooms, suites, and apartment. The rooms offer a variety of styles to choose from, including traditional or rustic splendor. Casual fine dining is offered in the on-site restaurant and tavern. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Essex Inn On The Adirondack Coast Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing