We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved us”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Essex
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Essex B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here on a bike trip. It was a last-minute call. We had reservations at another place down the road (see separate review) that was a disaster. We called the Essex about 6pm, saying we were 15 miles away by bike... they were pleasant, helpful, and saved us a room. When we arrived, there had been mixup with another staff, and they'd given our room to someone else-- but, after a short consultation, agreed to put us in a more expensive room for the same price. The price, I'll note, is pretty steep. We were tired (had biked about 70 miles) and hungry, and it was worth it to us at that point-- but if we'd been planning ahead and thinking critically, it probably would've put us off. The room was very pleasant (though a little less "vintage" than the exterior suggests) and a demi-bottle of wine waiting for us there was unbelievably welcome. After fabulous showers we had a great dinner in their restaurant (though again, the drinks were more NYC prices...) and had a great sleep. Breakfast, great too. Everyone was super-helpful; they even offered to keep our bikes in their storage area. Other people around were friendly, too. In the morning we took our bikes on the ferry across to VT. That night had started as a lowlight of the trip, but turned into a highlight.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you for your nice review, Dan. It was very much our privilege to be able to be a "refuge" for you both that day! During the summer months, we now offer our guests a complimentary Innkeeper's welcome wine and cookies reception (in addition to the demi-bottle in the individual rooms that you found so delightful!) We've also added a small butler's pantry, with complimentary snacks for our guests to enjoy after a weary day of traveling. We're so glad that Essex was a highlight for your trip, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 60 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a quiet and peaceful getaway from NYC to celebrate our anniversary so we decided on this newly restored inn in the picturesque town of Essex in the Adirondacks. Wow! What a pleasant stay we had! The inn is small and quaint and you could feel the history in the building and in the area, but it is so beautifully redone you do not miss out on any of the comforts you would expect from any luxury hotel. The room we stayed in (Room1) was very comfortable, clean and spacious! We loved the fireplace in the room and used it quite a bit. The Inn is located on the town's main street very close to beautiful Lake Champlain. We only wish we could have stayed longer (we were only there for 3 days)! The breakfast was delicious and the restaurant is very popular and serves some of the best food you can get in the area. The service is excellent and so friendly. There is always someone in the inn or just a phone call away if we needed them. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgtsuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The Essex Inn exceeded our expectations in more ways than one. The Inn is quaint yet modern and the restauraunt dining room inviting and intimate. We stayed in room 6 which was spacious and decorated Adirondack style with a large redone bathroom. We had a fantastic dinner Saturday night and a breakfast waiting for us in the morning. What a great place to truly feel like you "got away"! We will definitely be returning to The Essex Inn. I almost forgot to mention the excellent service every step of the way.

Room Tip: Every room seems to have a little bit different of a style, but I would be happy to stay in any of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

We appreciate your kind review, Kathryn! We work diligently to create a relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere for our Inn guests and dining patrons, and we look forward to hosting you again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I expected much more from this picturesque inn (from the web site photo). The room was very small. There was space for only one suitcase in the closet, and I had to move a chair each time I wanted to open the closet door. There was no good place to put my husband's suitcase. The room was dark; the closet didn't have a light. The breakfast was completely inadequate--poached eggs with hard yolks, some fruit and--surprise!--a very tasty granola/muffin concoction. The Inn does not have on-site staff and the lack of care for their guests really shows. The price was high for the cramped room and the bad food.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanj453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexInn, Lessee/Business and Operations Owner at Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

August 16, 2011

Dear Esteemed Guest,

We understand that your visit was a disappointment to you. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. I would genuinely appreciate the opportunity of discussing with you the problems that you encountered during your stay. Please contact me at your convenience so that we may understand your comments fully and possibly find a way to restore your confidence in the Essex Inn. My contact information is:
(518) 963-4400 or essexinnessex@gmail.com.

Thank you,
Gladys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Essex Inn is the perfect oasis. It just opened so everything is brand new and beautiful. It's tiny -- 7 rooms and we stayed in #7, which was lovely and large. Breakfast is included and it was delicious. We actually ate dinner there as well and the dining room is quite nice, the service was excellent and the food terrific. (I had the steak; my husband had the crab cakes.) It has a full bar and a nice (if short) wine list. Essex Inn has a great front porch with rocking chairs. It's right on the town's main street but the town is very small so it's not noisy etc. The town is right at the ferry going over to the Vermont side of Lake Champlain. A great place for lunch is The Docks, right at the ferry. We would definitely stay there again. The only thing I would note is this: If you are a high-maintainence traveler, this is not the Inn for you. It is not staffed 24 hours a day. That said, there was always someone around when we were coming or going.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexInn, Lessee/Business and Operations Owner at Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

August 16, 2011

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful and thoughtful review!

We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide maximum comfort and service to our guests. We're glad you so greatly enjoyed your Adirondack decored room and your dining experiences.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to host you again, soon!

Thank you,
Gladys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

It's really unfair to call this new find a B&B. It is so much more!

We stayed at the Essex Inn before the recent renovations (apparently so did a few of your unhappier reviewers) and the old (2009) Inn (under prior owners) had, at best, comic value.

Well, all those stories are now just amusing counterpoints to what the Inn has become: Elegant simplicity with cosmopolitan dining and fine wine selections!

We got the last room available -- small but elegant -- lovely linens, nice amenities, fabulous mattress, Keurig, TV, wi-fi, and dock for your iPod -- and enjoyed a superb dinner (great job on the duck!).

The wine selection was limited to under a dozen excellent choices available by the glass or bottle but they plan to expand that list and, given their choices so far, we'll be looking forward to that.

The gourmet continental breakfast was a real treat with quiche, excellent bacon, homemade granola bars, juices, good coffee and more. But I want to go back for lunch (the menu looked really good) and for the Sunday Brunch which they were setting up as we left.

Good luck with this! We have a summer place in the area and we'll be regulars!

Barbara
Branford Connecticut/Naples Florida

Room Tip: Ask about fireplaces, adirondack decor, and access to the veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinnyandbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexInn, Lessee/Business and Operations Owner at Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

August 16, 2011

Dear Barbara,

What a terrific, thorough, and might I say, very encouraging review!

We appreciate your feedback. We count on such feedback to help us provide quality service and value to our guests, as we continue to work diligently to create an atmosphere guests can truly enjoy.

Thank you for taking the time to reflect so nicely upon the details we have all worked hard on as we continue to create the desired environment we wish to achieve for our guests.

Best Regards,
Gladys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We ended up in Essex on our way to Lake Placid. We knew nothing about the Essex Inn. The new owners have done an INCREDIBLE job restoring this 200-year old gem. Rooms offer 21st Century ammenities set in a bygone era of relaxation and comfort.

Room Tip: Room 6 -- rustic elegance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tlady57318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast

Address: 2297 Main Street, Essex, NY 12936
Location: United States > New York > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Essex
Price Range: $85 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast has undergone a complete renovation that has transformed this nearly 200-year old landmark into the crown jewel of the Lake Champlain region. The Inn offers elegant overnight accommodations in beautifully appointed rooms, suites, and apartment. The rooms offer a variety of styles to choose from, including traditional or rustic splendor. Casual fine dining is offered in the on-site restaurant and tavern. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Essex Inn On The Adirondack Coast Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing