We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful staff in a spacious and updated hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Elmsford
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Staff greeted me at every opportunity and were very helpful. The room was larger than I expected with a very comfortable bed and couch. Breakfast was delicious as well. I recommend this hotel to both business and leisure travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineLynnSC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

698 - 704 of 767 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2011

I stayed at the hotel during the week New York got the 17 inch of snow. The plowers had plowed snow all around the cars making it difficult for guest to move their cars the next morning, I asked other Hampton Inn workers for help and they seem relunctant to remove the snow. I actually had to catch a ride with a coworker for the day. Got back to the hotel and all cars had the snow removed from around them except mine. Food for thought! If you are going remove snow so that guest can move their vehicles, why not do it for all guest! Anywho, Jarett was the first face I saw returning that evening to the hotel and I voiced my fustration. He kindly with a warm smile said he would go out there and remove the snow with no hesitation. By the way, every evening that I walked in from my client's site, Jarett greeted me with a warm friendly smile and Good Evening. You rock Jarett!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KetaLeatherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed there because it was so convenient to drive from there to the Washington Heights area of Manhattan, where we were attending an event.. A super bargain compared with hotels in NYC. The driveway approaching the hotel is very steep, so would not be good in a snowstorm. Have had bigger bathrooms in this chain, but the breakfast area was superior. Also free internet on a computer provided for guests - a plus for those like me who don't like to cart along my own

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarmingtonValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We spent three nights at this hotel in January, 2011. We felt this property had some very positive points, but a few negatives as well.

Location: The hotel is extremely convenient to I-287's Exit 1, with southbound and northbound on-ramps and off-ramps all within about 100 yards of the hotel driveways. The hotel is built into the side of a hill, making parking and access somewhat confusing compared to some other Hampton's. Getting from the street to the front door for check-in requires two 180-degree turns up the switchback-style driveway. Except for a dozen or so spots on the same level as the front entrance, parking is either a full flight of stairs below the entrance level , or in one of a series of terraced-lots built into the hillside above one side of the building. Once at the entrance, getting from your car to the front door requires climbing eight or nine steps (not easy with full suitcases and other luggage) or using a ramp which extends around the side of the building and ends at a steeply sloped driveway -- in other words, no level spot to put a luggage cart while you unload.

Exterior: There is an outdoor pool area, which was closed for the season during our visit. If you have one of the rooms on the back of the hotel, you get a very peaceful, rustic view of the wooded hillside behind the hotel. Rooms on the front of the hotel look down onto West Main Street (well below window level), with a view over to I-287 and another busy highway in the middle-distance. Other than that, because of the hillside construction, most of the immediate area around the hotel is taken up by retaining walls and/or parking lots.

Interior: The hotel appears to have been recently refurbished and we found the public areas very comfortable and relaxing. The check-in area is open with plenty of room around it for luggage carts, carry-on bags, etc. while people check in or out. The check-in area also houses a concession area with a nice variety of candy, snacks, beverages and even frozen dinners for their microwave oven, and ice cream. The lobby area opens into a combination guest lounge and breakfast-area, with a large, wall-mounted flat-screen television, a double-sided fireplace, and casually arranged furniture groupings which also includes two large tables suitable for large-family breakfasts, business get-togethers, etc. The serving area for the usual complimentary Hampton Inn breakfast is in a large room immediately off the lounge area, separated from it by decorative see-thru doors during non-breakfast hours.

Rooms: We had a Hampton "king-study" room which includes a king-sized bed and a sleep-sofa. We didn't need the sleep sofa for sleeping, but like having the extra space for reading, doing handicrafts, and just spreading out while watching television. It appeared that our room had been recently refurbished as well, with a modern, functional bathroom and newer-style furniture in the bedroom. A couple of things about the room were a bit disconcerting: First, although most Hampton's now include in-room microwaves and mini-refrigerators, our room had neither -- but we knew that before leaving home and planned accordingly. Second, the only drawer space in the entire room was one small drawer in each of the two nightstands, one on each side of the bed. While it's probably not an issue for the in-and-out business traveler, when you're staying in one location for several nights, as we did, it's nice to be able to unpack things a bit. We managed to get by literally living out of our suitcases, but a bit more drawer space would have been nice, especially since there appeared to have be plenty of opportunity to include drawers into the design of the unit supporting the flat-screen television.

Dining: The hotel does not have a restaurant, but does offer the traditional free Hampton Inn breakfast. As frequent visitors to Hampton Inns, we found this breakfast to be one of the better ones we've encountered. The offerings included a hot entree that changed daily, make-your-own-waffles, cold and hot cereals, fresh and cut fruit, toast/bagels, muffins/pastries, fruit juices, yogurts and coffees and teas. The offerings were nicely displayed with room for guests to move among them without feeling crowded. The breakfast area attendants were continuously in the area taking care of spills, frequently restocking food items, and anxious to help guests find whatever they might be looking for. A real high-spot for this property.
Beyond the Hampton breakfast, there didn't appear to be many food choices in the immediate area, and none within an easy walk, at least not in the wintertime. The nearest option, which we used for two evening meals and one lunch was the Eldorado Diner, about 200 yards down the street from the hotel. They have an extensive menu of choices from breakfasts to salads to luncheon ideas to dinners which include soup/salad and vegetables. And they're open 24-hours a day. We found their servings to be extremely generous for the price and the food well-prepared and tasty in a clean, well-lit diner decor. They also have a not-to-be-missed dessert case full of tempting meal-enders. The next closest dining choice appeared to be a mile or more down the road from the hotel.

Staff: We found the staff at this property to be friendly, courteous and eager-to-please. Both our check-in and check-out were handled very efficiently, the breakfast bar staff did an excellent job, and the maintenance folks were quick to respond to two minor maintenance items we found during our first evening at the property (a burned out light bulb and a sliding closet door that had come off its track -- both items were repaired soon after we reported them the next morning).

Overall: We found this property extremely convenient to our travel needs along the I-287 corridor, the staff welcoming and responsive, and the room quiet and in good working order except for the lack of drawer space. The only noticeable drawbacks were the need to climb stairs or hills to get from the hotel to the parking area(s) and the number of stairs between check-in parking and the actual front door (guess we've gotten spoiled by stays at Hampton's where you can wheel the luggage cart out to your vehicle near the front door, load up, and wheel it back in for the elevator ride up to your room -- and do the reverse on your way out). All things considered, we would readily stay at this property again if/when we had business in the White Plains/Tarrytown NY area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MainerOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We had to fly in from California to attend a funeral. We arrived in the middle of the night, exhausted, and lacking luggage which was lost by the airline. The evening desk clerk welcomed us warmly and provided us with toothbrushes, a wake-up call, etc. He was kind, friendly, and helpful. Throughout our stay, we had delicious food (breakfasts included!), a clean lobby, free cookie snacks, helpful staff (booking taxis, etc.), and a very comfortable bed & room. This hotel was half the price of larger chains in the area, and it felt like home. Thank you Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felizalde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Newly renovated, clean, spacious rooms with a nice workspace and generous table. Check in was swift by helpful and friendly staff, checkout a breeze. I was instantly productive and comfortable on a recent 3 day business stay.

There is a bar / restaurant in the lobby that I did not use.

Only potential downside is that you need a car -- it is located on a busy street that is not walkable... Even the TGI Friday down the street is only accessible by car, but anybody staying here likely has one.

Excellent for the business traveler, and would be comfortable and efficient for those on leisure too.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Stayed New Year's Eve at this recently renovated property. Lobby, dining area and guest rooms decorated in great taste. We had a King Study on back of hotel faces woods, very quiet. Furnishings comfortable, great bed and bedding . . large flat screen TV, extra towels.
Staff is very friendly and well trained to ensure an enjoyable stay. Excellent location near major highways. The only drawback is the parking is a few steps further and up a hill because of the location. It is a minor inconvenience compared to the overall positive experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njtraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmsford
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tarrytown Westchester County
1.7 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Hawthorne
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown

Address: 200 W Main St, Elmsford, NY 10523-2406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Elmsford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Elmsford
Price Range: $122 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown Hotel Elmsford
Hampton Inn Elmsford
Elmsford Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown Elmsford, NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing