We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the money, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Elmsford
Reviewed March 23, 2010

The rooms were recently renovated, and it appears as is there is still some work being done. The rooms were neat and clean. The service was very good. It was well worth the deal I received. I would stay there again. My only complaint is the bedspread, it was clean but obviously over-washed because the fibers appeared to be matted together.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rve111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnELMNY, Manager at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Hope that we'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

740 - 746 of 776 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2010

I booked a night at this hotel for a v-day surprise for my boyfriend. Everything was great--the newly renovated room, the lobby with it's burning fireplace, the location...but at 8am we were awoken by a horrid loud buzzing which was the fire alarm going off. We went outside and waited for it to be turned off, in the freezing cold, and then fell asleep again. 30 minutes later the same horrible buzz woke us up again. We waited outside in the freezing cold again, only to be told "the system has a glitch, we're trying to fix it." We went back to our room again and ended up "oversleeping" and missing breakfast, which was gone by 10:30. The only saving grace was that I got a great deal and paid $60 for the room on Priceline.com. Upon checking out I told the woman at the front desk I wasn't happy with the broken fire alarm and she simply shrugged. DO NOT PAY OVER $60 TO STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraveloverUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnELMNY, Manager at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were glad to read that you enjoyed the newly renovated rooms and the lobby with fireplace.
As far as the fire alarm, we can only apologize again. State and County laws require that when an alarm goes off, the building needs to evacuated. Unfortunately, this is not something that the hotel can plan for, nor control. We do hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Although I usually love Hampton Inns and Hilton Garden Inns, I felt this property was subpar.

Location is great, right off the freeway near Tappan Zee and close to White Plains. The hotel sits on a hill, and the entrance way is a bit steep. There's plenty of free parking. The front desk girl was simply outstanding... very friendly, very helpful. The breakfast buffet was your typical Hampton Inn breakfast with cereal, mixed fruits, banana, apple, yogurt, couple of hot items, toast, muffins, juice, milk, coffee/tea. There was a business center, which was essentially a tiny room with one computer & printer... don't count on this too much since it was in use by somebody else everytime I went down to try to print something.

The room was okay, and the carpet was soft and clean. Pretty quiet for the most part, and I think the sound insulation is adequate here; if it weren't for that, our loud neighbors would've driven us crazy. This property felt a little bit worn, although I think the housekeeping does as good a job as one could expect to keep the rooms clean. The biggest problems I had...
1).Wireless connection was the worst I've experienced in any Hampton Inn. Kept automatically disconnecting for no reason every 5-10minutes.
2).We had a couple of bath towels that were disgusting with multiple old stains.
3).When I took a shower at 1am, the hottest water I could get was lukewarm.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brookl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

I coordinated booking this hotel for my son's wedding by having a block set aside for all the out of town guests. The booking sales manager was most helpful, made the process easy for everyone.The director was exceptional,friendly and went above and beyond in recommending hair and nail salons for the wedding as well as local restaraunts. Entire staff were warm and friendly.Price was great ,free parking,location just off the highway for easy access.
The hotel had just been refurbished so the rooms were beautiful and the beds quite comfortable. We were able to use the common space to visit with family and guests in the afternoon and evening, and they even baked an additional tray of cookies for our group to enjoy. The complimentary breakfast was excellent-would recommend this hotel for excellent service and value!

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weddingmomKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnELMNY, Manager at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2009

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel. We were so honored to be part of such a special family occasion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Conveniently located off I-287 in Elmsford. Friendly staff and clean, comfortable room with 37 inch flatscreen TV! Generous continental breakfast in the morning with muffins, bagels, toast, cereal, waffles, coffee, juice galore! Amazing value and inexpensive.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xydexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnELMNY, Manager at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2009

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, especially the waffles which we just added to the buffet last week!
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed at the Marriott in Tarrytown because we were part of a group and therefore had a group rate. If not for that, our room would have cost us $250+ per night for a small room with no additional perks. By contrast, the following week we stayed at the nearby Hampton (just down the block, walking distance actually) and for $150 we had a much larger (newly renovated) room, free wi-fi in the room, a newspaper in the morning, and free breakfast.
The hotel is in the midst of a renovation so be sure to ask for a room on a high floor that's already been done.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eye12dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed at this Hampton Inn twice on our trip. It is conveniently located to the White Plains Airport. The rooms are clean, and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmsford
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tarrytown Westchester County
1.7 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Hawthorne
153 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites White Plains - Elmsford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown

Address: 200 W Main St, Elmsford, NY 10523-2406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Elmsford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Elmsford
Price Range: $120 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown Hotel Elmsford
Hampton Inn Elmsford
Elmsford Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown Elmsford, NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing