We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Elmsford
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tiny room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel messed up my reservation and only had one bed when we reserved two. They assured us it was a queen but it had the be smallest queen in history. The room was tiny, the closet door was broken, the clock radio was broken, they had two small towels in a room for two people. We moved after one night to the Doubletree which was a much nicer hotel.

Room Tip: Double check that you get the room you reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharynW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele V, General Manager at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear SharynW

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

I am disappointed that you didn't have a great experience while you were at our hotel.
My team and I are looking in to the deficiencies you found in the room.

Sincerely,

Michele Viapiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    234
    116
    73
    35
See reviews for
222
163
59
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cf904
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed here twice in the last 2 years. Most recently was in August 2012 when we stayed one night here. We found the construction to be complete. What a beautiful difference in the common area for breakfast. We have stayed at three different Hamptons & this location has the best decor in the breakfast area. The room was comfortable & updated. The bed & pillows were in good shape. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cf904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele V, General Manager at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear cf904

Thank you so much for writing a review for our hotel.

I am so happy hear that you liked the renovations, and especially our breakfast area.

It is my favorite spot in the hotel.

I hope you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Michele Viapiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had to stay someone for one night for work and got this hotel. Have to say was very nice, Room was nice clean (not sure what the one person said about no towels) Breakfast was very good (again not sure what the one person said that the breakfast was jsut fair).

All in all staff was nice room was nice and that is all we ask for right?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEKDES-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele V, General Manager at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear JEKDES-NYC

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.

It's so rewarding to see that you had a nice experience during your stay.
I will share your feedback with our team.

Sincerely,

Michele Viapiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
124 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hampton Inn is usually rock-solid as far as good service, clean rooms, and free breakfast for a decent price, and this property isn't an exception. The only thing that took me by surprise was the "tiered" parking lot - it was quite a steep drive up to a parking space in one of the three or so "steppes", and then quite a long walk from there to the front door of the hotel. I have painful hips, especially after driving for any length of time, so the steep walk was quite uncomfortable walking downhill from my car to the hotel, and then up the hill from the hotel to my car. Otherwise, it was a pleasant stay. For parents who have kids that are "all about the pool" - be advised that it is an outdoor pool, adjacent to the parking lots.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiftLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele V, General Manager at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Liftlady

I wanted to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay.

I am glad that overall you had a pleasant stay.

Sincerely,

Michele Viapiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night while visiting area for training. When I made the reservation, I asked for a room far away from the elevator and higher floor. When I arrived, I was happy to find that both requests had been honored.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms had all of the Hampton Inn amenities that I have come to know and love.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaviorPeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele V, General Manager at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
I am so glad that our team was able to honor your request, and leave a lasting impression.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Michele Viapiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel about a week ago expecting the same quality I'm used to in a Hampton Inn but sadly this hotel wasn't up to par. The hotel really needs to upgrade their rooms. You can tell the lobby has been remodeled recently but the rooms are very outdated. If they do nothing else they should really change the carpeting throughout the hotel as I would not be caught dead being barefoot in there.

Other than that the staff was friendly, and the hotel was not at all hard to find. Once the hotel is remodeled I'd consider staying here again but not a minute sooner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbhottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele V, General Manager at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for the feedback regarding our hotel.
Our guest rooms were renovated in 2009 and the lobby was renovated in 2010. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will be working with the Housekeeping team to improve on the carpets.

Sincerely,

Michele Viapiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, VT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Beware of the night reception staff they are anything but helpful. Rooms were cleaned daily but they never are never fully stocked something is always missing. Then to get some one to answer the phone in reception is impossible, you will need to take the trip down for your needs and then they really did not want to give it to you. Common areas were not clean and were this way for the duration of our stay. The only good experience in this motel was the breakfast and the exercise room. Do not fall in to the trap of getting a double bed as they are smaller than the stanard double.

Room Tip: Do not request a double bed they are smaller than the standard size, take your own pillow so as to n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rablogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmsford
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.7 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
0.3 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#4 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - White Plains - Elmsford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown

Property: Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown
Address: 200 W Main St, Elmsford, NY 10523-2406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Elmsford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Elmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown Hotel Elmsford
Hampton Inn Elmsford
Elmsford Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown Elmsford, NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing