We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best local beer in Westchester”

Captain Lawrence Brewing Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$103.43*
and up
Hudson Valley Craft Brewery Bike Tour
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Elmsford
Attraction details
NY
Level Contributor
209 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Best local beer in Westchester”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This local craft brewery turns out consistently good beer. They regularly come up with new brews, which may only be available for a short time. The IPA, with about 9 percent alcohol, is a delicious Belgian-style treat. Buy a growler from there or bring your own, refills are fairly cheap. Can't say enough about how good the beer here is.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JogNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Union City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
807 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Fun place for some brew”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Pretty cool idea, you buy a tasting glass (only $2) and hang out at the brewery while sampling the beer they currently have on tap. Parking was a bit of a hassle as the brewery is kind of behind a small strip mall and a truck rental place that don't want you parking there, but once we figured that out there was no problem. I think officially you are only allowed 2 tastings per NY law but some of the signs had conflicting info so I never really figured it out for sure.

The beer itself was very good with several varieties to appeal to different tastes. I recall a very good blonde and some good IPAs.

There were also some local food carts selling food outside and in the barroom. I liked that they supported other local businesses.

I couldn't find any info on tours, but from the bar, you can go into the actual brewery in a small area and see the beer being made.

Service was very good and friendly. They told us a little about each beer and were very helpful when deciding what to take home.

We enjoyed the beer so much we took home a couple of growlers which were reasonably priced.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun on a dime”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

$2 tasting glass, food available for purchase from a few local eatieries (nothing fancy!), and lots of people around enjoying themselves with various brews. A great concept, fun idea for friends, and remember to tip the staff as its good karma (and $2 is nothing).

Their website give plenty of information. Business men looking for a different evening while staying in Tarrytown, late 20's and 30's vibe, but all seemed to be welcomed.

I also liked that it supports a very local business.

Step out of the bar box for a night and try it out. I will be back for another try of their different brews.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank francophileinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Brewery!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went to the newly opened location and loved it. It is much larger than the other location and better situated. Had a nice selection of beers and got to taste some before I made my purchases. We all had a nice time while there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeeElla269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fascinating and quite tasty”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Beer lovers, this is nirvana!! What an interesting small business this is with results like a very big business. They have fresh, tasty and creative beers and seeing how it all works is a big part of the attraction. Nice customer service and some great diversions like the Bocci court and awesome food trucks hanging outside.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank msva23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Lawrence Brewing Company also viewed

Sleepy Hollow, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 
Sleepy Hollow, Westchester County
Elmsford, Westchester County
 

Been to Captain Lawrence Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing