We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gets better every time we go” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malabar Hill - CLOSED

Malabar Hill
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Elmsford, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Gets better every time we go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

It started out as a very good Indeian restaurant some years ago, but then reinvented its menu and has gotten inventive and creative - very successfully. Tasty offerings and a few new items each time we have been there, keeps us coming back for more. well done!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SAREsq7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in White Plains, NY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Buffet lunches are always very good and VERY affordable - esepcially on the weekends. Make sure you make a reservation as it's quite popular with the working crowd during the work week. If the buffet's too overwhelming & not to your liking, then order a la carte. Everything's delicious and quite authentic - even my Indian friend says so :)

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MMSilverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

The buffet was really good on Sunday! Really liked the food - taste and worth it!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not what I expected ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

The outside of the Malabar Hill looks almost palatial but when I entered I found a restaurant with a very modern/practical look. I was hoping for something a little more authentic. The menu offers a wide array of vegetarian and meat dishes. We started with the vegetarian Samosas. For dinner I ordered the Saag Paneer and was very pleased. The Indian Sauvignon Blanc the waiter suggested was very good as well. The Kulfir ice cream was not so great. Overall it was a nice dinner.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
963 reviews
679 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
“Not a bad curry house, but certainly not as good as English or Indian curry...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Food was a bit bland, but not too bad. It's certainly not close to being as good as a curry in England or India, but I would go again if I was in the area and needed a curry fix.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malabar Hill also viewed

Elmsford, Westchester County
Elmsford, Westchester County
 
Elmsford, Westchester County
Elmsford, Westchester County
 
Elmsford, Westchester County
Elmsford, Westchester County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing