We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Italian Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of King Umberto

King Umberto
Reserve with OpenTable
King Umberto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Elmont
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: Municipal lot across the street.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian Food!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have been to King Umbertos several times and I have NEVER been disappointed. The food is great and the service is wonderful! Try the Fried Capellini.
If there is any downside it would be the noise level. Maybe not the best place for a quiet, romantic dinner!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    32
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food just like Mom's”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Always good meal never disappointed from the Pizza to nightly specials always satisfied. We go for dinner weekly. It's our place try it it will be your place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladyfish76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Italian food in a good setting”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a feast of Italian food- appetizers, main courses, and of course drinks, at this well known local restaurant, located right on the Nassau County/Queens border.

It is a lively place, with decent decor, but people go for the food, and noone left disappointed.

Great meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CurtM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
579 reviews
480 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“AWESOME FOOD! Quality Italian Food, so Delish:)”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I've been told by some friends to come and try this place...was told I would love the food and won't be disappointed...boy was I impressed:) My wife and I first made reservations worrying that we might not get a nice table and even chose to dine on a Thursday night instead of a weekend night. We were very pleasantly greeted and seated comfortably in a cozy booth. I was oh so excited to order the food and after we had our wine, reading all about the specials of the day, we decided on their signature appetizer fried capollini(in layman terms...fried noodles & cheese, lightly breaded and deep fried on the outside, oh so creamy inside), a delish hockey puck of mac & cheese-kids of all ages will LOVE IT! Their fried calmari was light and delish, not greasy at all with a wonderful marinara homemade sauce you can taste the difference. We had the Veal Valdostana- a stuffed veal chop with proscuitto and mozzarella cheese with a brown mushroom sauce(DELISH) and the seafood platter with clams, mussels, shrimp, calamari and scungilli(another knockout dish). We also ordered a side of broccoli rabe which of course we had to have our veggies along with the another side of broccoli sauted in garlic and oil and some penne in garlic/oil/anchovies. We forced ourselves to have some dessert and this is where we were indulgent. Not saying that their desserts/cappuccino/expresso were not good but to be honest...we've had better. Better to save some calories and money by skipping dessert but who can resist not to have any? Oh well...temptation strikes again:) OVERALL..it has been on of our best meals we've had in long while. This place surely does things right, food's great! Service exceptional! Ambience very very comfy and the weeknight is much quieter than the weekend so that's nice! Seems like everyone celebrates their birthdays there because that's all we heard all night long:)haha Cost effective? YES, if you factor in the dining experience vs. food quality and enjoyment level...you won't be disappointed at all.

Tip: Go ahead a little earlier to find parking because they don't have a parking lot nor valet. A little bit of a hassle to find parking but it might be better to call car service if you want to drink and not drive since you have to find parking anyway:) Better to be safe and not get a DWI...you've be warned!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lejaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
272 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have been to this restaurant many times and every time I walk out feeling " what a great meal ". I went there today with friends for lunch and everything was great. Choices on the menu and specials are always more than enough.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SSDNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Umberto also viewed

New Hyde Park, Long Island
New Hyde Park, Long Island
 
Floral Park, Long Island
Westbury, Long Island
 

Been to King Umberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing