We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Elmira
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus. Ohio
Level Contributor
324 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The rooms we had were decent ... looked like they'd recently been updated ... but this looks like an old hotel. And the prices ... wow! We originally were quoted $190 per room, so we booked a suite. It was 2 standard rooms: one with a bed and dresser, the other with a couch and desk, with an inside connecting door. It was $285 a night! So I asked at the desk about other options and found the rate for single rooms had dropped to $145, so we took 2 rooms. With tax, each came to over $162. We stayed in a much nicer place the night before in Lewisburg PA for $100. For what was comparable to Marriott prices, I'd expect more knowledgeable staff and nicer public areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peebs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Elmira Holiday Inn, we truly value all the comments we receive to help ensure each and every guest has a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We are sorry for any inconveniences you may have incurred during your stay. You may contact me at any time if you wish to discuss your stay any further. Thank you and have a great day!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    88
    32
    11
    14
See reviews for
68
41
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Holiday Inn Ithaca, NY - Visit remarks - September 19, 2012

My wife and I used my Priority Club points to stay one night at the Holiday Inn in Elmira, NY. This is an older property that has received a complete facelift. A very nice restoration. Our room was, as requested, a second floor king with fridge and microwave, located on a small courtyard. It was very quiet, and the room was stunning! Nice Job.

Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Elmira. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We value all guest feedback to help ensure that all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The myth that holiday inn would be better than a bed and breakfast was shattered over the weekend. The rude staff and lousy rooms made the stay rather unbearable. The noise from machines in the hall were ridiculously loud, the room 229 had such a loud buzz in it m wife could not sleep. I called the front desk to see if we could change rooms, and he said he would send security up to check the noise out. 30 min later no news, and already 10pm, so i walked down and requested a room change. The desk worker asked security on the radio if he found out where the noise came from and the man on the radio said "its between his ears". The man at the desk didnt know what to do so he had his manager come out to change rooms for us. We get the room change and carry everything to the next room. No sounds, but the toilet does not flush, and the plug in the tub is broken. What a mess, had to remove the plug just to shower and wait 10 min between flushes. no breakfast included, and the beds were not at all comfortable. Last time i spend 130$ to be miserable.

Room Tip: get a room away from the banquet hall, flush before committing to a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us a take the time to post a review. We are truly sorry for any inconveniences you incurred during your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback and will review the situation. Please feel free to contact me at any time if you wish to further discuss your stay. Have a great day!!!

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

This is a new hotel. Clean rooms, great fitness gym, nice indoor pool, and very friendly staff. My husband forgot his razor and they brought one up within minutes. 10 minutes from The Hill Top Inn. Full restaurant in hotel, we didn't try it though.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Elmira Holiday Inn, we truly value all the comments that we receive to help ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel while my son was in a golf tournament. I was pleasantly surprise how nice this hotel was renovated. Lobby is beautiful. Desk personal were very friendly. Room were very comfortable and very clean. Room could use more electric plugs, especially one in the front hall near the iron. Only marked this as very good because I was very disappointed that the outdoor pool was not open and price was very high for this location. There is not alot to do around this hotel, not many restaurants either.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRADAIMEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Elmira for your recent stay. We do appreciate our guests feedback and comments to ensure that all of our guests stays are enjoyable and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

clean,had everything we needed, good breakfast included. would definitely stay again and recommend it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gourmandBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback!!!! I am very glad you had a good stay!!!! We would love to have you visit us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

One of the nicest hotels in Elmira, but nothing special. It has a modern design and looks very nice, but there is little to do in the area. Easy access on and off the highway and we stayed here because we needed something between Ithaca and Corning. Staff were friendly and helpful, the restaurant's food is good, prices are good, but they are very slow and understaffed. For example, on the Sunday of Cornell Univ graduation they were turning people away at the door of the restaurant saying they had a 45 minute wait for breakfast when less than half of the restaurant seating was filled. Our food took way too long considering we order eggs. It was hot and muggy out and our room has little nats in it from being on the river side of the hotel. We were able to switch to a room on the parking lot side and didn't have any problems with bugs the other three nights of our trip.

Room Tip: Parking lot side is ideal in the summer because the other side will get nats from the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovingtheview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Lovingtheview,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am pleased you liked your room accommodations as well as our friendly staff. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmira
5.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elmira Corning
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)
6.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 5 in Elmira
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview

Property: Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview
Address: 760 E Water St, Elmira, NY 14901-3317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Elmira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Elmira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Elmira-Riverview, completely renovated in 2012. Nestled in the heart of Mark Twain Country the Finger Lakes region, you'll find this friendly, full-service hotel a convenient location that will make the most of your valuable leisure and business time. Our hotel is located just minutes away from downtown Elmira, its business district, and many local area attractions. An Excellent Business Location! The Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview is conveniently located to such fine companies as Kennedy Valve, McWane International, Elmira College, EmHart Glass, FM Howell, Airgas East, Elmira and Southport Correctional Facilities, and many others. Great for a Vacation Getaway Our hotel provides an excellent location while visiting any of Mark Twain's historical sites, the Finger Lake Wineries, the Corning Museum of Glass, Watkins Glen International Raceway, and other historical Elmira attractions. Great Amenities and Service! Our friendly and professional staff looks forward to welcoming you to our wonderful hotel. We offer a full array of full-service amenities and services such as Free Wired or Wireless High Speed Internet Access, Flat screen TVs in all of our guest rooms, Indoor swimming pool, Anthony's Restaurant and Lounge with Live Entertainment on Saturday nights. The Holiday Inn Elmira, your home away from home!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview Hotel Elmira
Elmira Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing