We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service & bread covered in mold”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Barb's Soups On Cafe - CLOSED

Barb's Soups On Cafe
Cuisines: American, Soups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad service & bread covered in mold”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Stopped her for a quick lunch, soup was stone cold, waitress finally showed up again & took it away, never asking if I wanted another HOT cup. Then the bread on my sandwich was covered with mold on the inside. Needless to say we will not be back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pilot2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    2
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The cold blueberry soup was amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

It was a really hot muggy day and the soup was a welcome diversion. There was a group of us who had just taken the Trolley ride around town and we were all in need of good quality food. We were not disappointed. The soups and the sandwiches are some of the best around town. The place is very quaint. The wait staff were wonderful. There were 4 of us and the waitress did not have a problem with 4 separate checks. That is not very common these days so was much appreciated.Looking forward to going there again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brooke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Three words: buffalo chicken wraps”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I've met my friend here for lunch many times and the food is always really delicious. It's a small restaurant so if you go during lunchtime be prepared for noise and a tight squeeze but it's not a big deal and doesn't detract from the deliciousness of the food at all. It's no surprise they're so popular with the local lunch crowd because everything from their sandwiches to their wraps to their soups is delicious. Highly recommend the buffalo chicken wrap - it is phenomenal. Their French fries are awesome, too. Their prices are very affordable, another great bonus.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, PA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Sandwich selection is wonderful...everything tasted great. Nice outdoor seating area...not the most beautiful surroundings, but quiet enough. Service was decent...table was slightly dirty when we sat down, but not terrible. Definitely recommend this cute cafe.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divide, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Girls Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

During my visit to my friends new home we were exploring her area and found this great little cafe!. We both had salads, mine was a spinach salad and hers a taco salad. We ordered the soup and shared a plate of sweet potatoe fries that were perfectly made.
Cool refreshing green tea ice tea and we were sitting on the lovely little deck. This cafe is situated off the main road in Elmira. The head waitress was so sweet and friendly. We will definitely go back again. It is a great place for my friend to meet her husband for lunch because it is close to the university where he works.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gwen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barb's Soups On Cafe also viewed

 
Elmira, Finger Lakes
 
Elmira, Finger Lakes
Elmira, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing