We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay”
Review of Charlie's Cafe

Charlie's Cafe
Ranked #21 of 109 Restaurants in Elmira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
horseheads, ny
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“okay”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Atmosphere is lacking, menu is too expensive for me, food is good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dcbush41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Up and down”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Have had several meals there over the years, rangigf from very good to disappointing. Popular in Elmira.

Helpful?
Thank Wtrav77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You will need the bloody mary”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Breakfast - The bloody mary was good not great, but good. The Eggs benidect with crab was okay the hollindase was good but there was hardly any on my eggs same with the crab maybe a teaspoon of crab meat, maybe. The potatoes were so overdone i had to ask if they were normally served "blackened" and was told yes they looked normal. They were as crunchy as a carrot (raw) yuck. My husband got eggs and sausage with the same gross homefries. Grand total... $38.00 (including the tip 15% which frankly was undeserved) NOT WORTH IT!!! we ended up going to McDonalds after becasue we were stil hungery

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, NY
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Two Thumbs Up!”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

It feels like it's a "special day" when you eat at Charlie's Cafe even though their prices are "regular". It seems like they spend a little extra time makeing each dish special or a bit different than what you would get elsewhere. Two thumbs up!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElfJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Expected great things”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Took my sister in law for dinner. The Greek egg/lemon soup we started with was fantastic. Unfortunately, the rest of the meal was less than perfect. The vegetables were over done and especially disappointing.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikegoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Cafe also viewed

Elmira, Finger Lakes
Elmira, Finger Lakes
 
Elmira, Finger Lakes
Elmira, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Charlie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing