We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmm”
Review of Light's Bake Shop

Light's Bake Shop
Ranked #4 of 5 Dessert in Elmira
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Big Flats, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mmmm”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Good selection of traditional food. Prepared well and served pretty quickly. Portions were generous but not as overwhelming as at some other restaurants.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Frosted sugar cookies are amazing”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Their diner-style food is great. I love their breakfast but their frosted sugar cookies are to die for. Their other baked goods are equally delicious, too. THIS is how baking SHOULD TASTE.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michlamb2001
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Solid local fare, excellent bakery”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Light's is a bakery with a strong diner vibe. Like everywhere, prices are up and that is true here as well, although still lower than most. They make a great selection of food, have breakfast all the time and we have always liked our meals. Being a bakery at heart, don't miss the pies, cakes or cookies.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michlamb2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Try a little of EVERYTHING”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

You want homemade goodies and either dont want to or cant bake them yourself, THIS is where you go! You can even grab some food in their diner section.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 210Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Gone Downhill”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This place used to be much better. However, the last year or two, when I've decided to try again, I've been dissapointed. The service is poor and the food is prepackaged and just bad. The last time I went I had a burger. It was terrible. Dry, hard, flavorless. You could tell it came from a box. On top of that, their prices have gotten a bit high. But, they still do have the best blueberry pancakes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reviewer0946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Light's Bake Shop also viewed

Elmira, Finger Lakes
Elmira, Finger Lakes
 
Elmira, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Light's Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing