We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Thumbs Up on the Spaghetti”
Review of Manzari's Grill

Manzari's Grill
Ranked #42 of 108 Restaurants in Elmira
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Elmira, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Two Thumbs Up on the Spaghetti”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Although it's a very limited menu (VERY), it is what it is....and what they DO have (spaghetti with meatballs mainly) is delicious and well priced. It sure it nice for a quick, easy, takeout meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ElfJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forestville, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good, but not as good as the hype.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My boyfriend raved about this place to me and we finally got the opportunity to go recently. I love these little hole-in-the-wall places and I love spaghetti, but I have to admit I was slightly let down. The pop was flat, the noodles under-cooked, and the sauce was watery and so-so. Maybe it's because I've been brought up on homemade sauce, but this just looked, and tasted, like canned tomato sauce. For $14.50 for both of us, I almost would have rather thrown it together myself at home. For me, spaghetti is kind of like pizza...it's always good even when it's bad, so that's where the "average" rating comes from. I'm sorry to say I was sort of disappointed...I really wanted to like this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SMILLER5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Good plate of spaghetti for the money”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Spaghetti, meatball sandwich, & griller ham & cheese is the extent of the menu but the food is great. Service is slow because it's only Joe and Chris working but stop in and have a plate.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluewater464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SPAGHETTI PALACE”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

If you like good pasta, this is the place to go! Order the "Neopolitan" and get piles of garlic on top of their famous red sauce. Wonderful! And the price is ALWAYS RIGHT! Thanks guys!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quote me on this: The best bar in Elmira”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I don't say this lightly, but I really believe this is "The Best Bar in Elmira". Small, friendly, and cozy. They're open 365 days a year -- and you'll always find someone to chat with. The family provides some of the best service you'll ever get in a bar. This is the kind of place that once Joe, Chris, or Vito catch your name, they always great you with a smile, a handshake, and your name. The spaghetti is excellent -- nothing fancy, but homemade meatballs and great tomato sauce -- and the pasta is always cooked perfectly. I suppose if you're only going to offer a couple things on your menu, you ought to do it great! My recommendation: get the spaghetti half-and-half with an extra meatball.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChronoJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manzari's Grill also viewed

 
Elmira, Finger Lakes
 
Elmira, Finger Lakes
Elmira, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Manzari's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing