We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was pleasantly surprised.”
Review of Relax Inn Elmira

Relax Inn Elmira
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relax Inn Elmira
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Elmira
Reviewed September 15, 2010

I stayed here last week and wasn't sure what to expect.  It's at the end of a (now) dead end street which gave the GPS fits trying to find the place.  I recommend using Google street view before heading out so you have a grip on the area beforehand.

The manager was very nice and helpful.  The room was a little small and needed some upgrading but you could tell they were, slowly but surely, upgrading the place.  The nice things included a wide-screen HD TV, fridge, microwave, comfortable bed and pillows, windows that open, and it's fairly quiet.  There's no hair dryer or iron in the room and they don't have a breakfast room but you can pick up some coffee or tea and a breakfast sandwich by the desk and take it to your room.  There's also a picnic table and barbecue.  What needs some work?  Room fixtures like doors, windows, and electrical fixtures.  The outside needs improvement also but for the price I consider it to be a good deal.        

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe44Blow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for Relax Inn Elmira
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2008

I think that people may have too high of expectations from this cute little motor lodge if they have complaints after saving $40 -$140 compared to the other local places.

I travel the WNY, CNY, and WPA areas and often have to sleep over since my presentations are often in the evening. This motel is exactly the same as all other motels in the price range. It was clean, smelled like motel cleaning supplies, the bed was comfortable and the wifi was good quality - something that even pricey hotels sometimes don't measure up when it comes to signal strength.

The office was clean and the clerk was very pleasant.

If you need a place to crash for a night or two this place does the trick... if you are a family staying for a week you might need more space but other than that this place works.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelingTemptress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

If you are used to all the hotel anemities and the upscale of a hotel, then no, this motel isn't for you. It did have phone, internet access, cable, microwave and fridge. Yes the room has an odor about it, but nothing that a bottle of febreze or runuzit or a candle can't take care of. Otherwise the room was clean and comfortable. I like the fancier ones at times too, but for this overnight trip, the room sufficed.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dreamchaser1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2006

I booked a room for two nights at the Relax Inn under the pretense that it was a "rare find." Who wouldn't want a nice room at a discount rate? I should have read all the reviews first.

I was appalled at the stench that greeted me at the door. It was an overwhelming blend of mold and mildew covered with ammonia. I lasted about 5 minutes in the room, but the smell lingered in my nose and lungs for the next hour. Unfortunately ,the memory will stay with me forever! I left without securing another reservation for the night(sleeping in the car was a better option) and luckily found another room at a lower rate two exits east that was neat and clean and odor free(red carpet treatment.)

Aside from the olfactory assault, the room was tidy but small and somehow depressing. It did offer the promised amenities; microwave, fridge, Internet access(helpful when looking for alternate accommodations)

If your still reading this and thinking.....maybe this is just some high maintenance woman with too much free time and this is your kind of place....consider the serious lack of security. The flimsy door had a dime store door lock, the kind easily opened with a credit card. The chain lock was attached to a flimsy piece of molding that easily detached from the wall with the tug from a small woman and replaced just as easily. I must have not been the first to try that trick. The six foot strapping man at my side felt ill at ease as well.

In two words STAY AWAY!. Don't get stuck paying any penalty by booking ahead. If you did make that mistake, discuss the issue with reception. They will accept less than a one night fee. This place is no bargain even if it was free

Stayed: July 2006
5  Thank slackerhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York City, New York
17
Reviewed May 22, 2006

I was shocked at this place. The "office" was a tiny little room, with a fish tank with no fish. And a tiny old counter for the "free continental breakfast" When I got to my room, the door seemed very flimsy with just a little chain lock on it, there was a weird smell, the window was old wood framed with a crack in it, there was no clock, the refrigerator and microwave were old and dirty, the bathroom was old with peeling walls, light fixtures were missing bulbs, the bathtub fixtures were rusty and there was mold on the ceiling. I had a scary feeling of the place. I immediatly went looking for another hotel, luckily I found one. I had to pay the entire cost of the room, but I didn't care, my relaxation is worth it. I wouldn't recommend this place to my enemy.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmira
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 5 in Elmira
138 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elmira Corning
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Inn Elmira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Inn Elmira

Address: 45 Fisherville Rd, Elmira, NY 14903-9778
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Elmira
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Elmira
Price Range: $66 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Relax Inn Elmira 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Relax Inn Elmira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relax Inn Elmira Hotel Elmira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing