We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business and special gift shop”

The Christmas House
Ranked #1 of 3 Shopping in Elmira
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You'll find favorites for not just the holidays but EVERYday in our seasonal Queen Anne Victorian Shop. Check our on-line calendar of events as we almost always have something fun going on or become our Facebook friend to know the latest and greatest!
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great place to shop for unique ornaments and decorations. Great place to bring out of town guests. They have hard to find Christmas ornaments. Staff is friendly and helpful! Beautiful house and shopping venue! Special nights and fund raising opportunities.

1  Thank johas58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jed361, Owner at The Christmas House, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks Johna58 for your nice review of your stop at The Christmas House. You certainly have captured the essence of so much that we do here...and I will admit that I was surprised to read you know about our fundraising opportunities for charity group as well as for individuals. We truly believe in giving back to the community in which we all live, work and play. Shopping locally and shopping "small" allows us to do that. THANKS for being part of our mission!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 121 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

The spirit of Christmas is alive and well at this business. "Elf Julie" and her staff make this one of my favorite places to shop. Large selection of charming and unique gifts, friendly and helpful staff. As Julie says, "It not just for Christmas anymore!"

Thank LindaL47682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jed361, Owner at The Christmas House, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks for the great review LIndaL...we appreciate it! So glad you found our "Spirit of Christmas" alive and well while you shopped. It sure has been fun expanding our product lines to include a continually increasing amount of non-holiday goods! Thanks for coming to visit us during the early summer months! Elf Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Christmas House brings back the magic of Christmas. They have everything you need to make your Christmas truly special. Whether it is an ornament from todays era or a memory of your childhood Christmas, you will find it all at The Christmas House.

1  Thank Shelly0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jed361, Owner at The Christmas House, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks for writing that "The Christmas House brings back the magic of Christmas." We should make you are marketing director as we all just loved that sentence (our long time slogan is "Feel the Magic" so it fits right in!) We are all so busy nowadays that it is nice to have time to take a deep breath and to remember to ENJOY the shopping experience! Thanks for sharing! Elf Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

In Kansas, there's no place like home. In Elmira, there's no place like The Christmas House.

The place to be for all your Christmas needs and MORE. That's right, it's not just for Christmas. Head Elf Julie manages to stock the store with an eclectic variety. Cliche, yes, but there truly is something for everyone on your daily list.

Birthday. Child. Adult. Christmas. Man. Woman. Home. Hearth. Kitchen. Heck, I'm sure they even have an item or two for your furry frineds. Whimsical. Practical...

Check out their website and be sure to schedule a visit on your trip to the Southern Tier.

The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. And I kid you not: give them a theme and I'll bet
they will find something to fit the bill.

Thank ChaleneFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Christmas House is a "don't miss" stop when in the Elmira area!! It's a beautiful old Victorian Painted Lady that's filled with a wonderful choice of Christmas and general gift and decorating items. The staff treats everyone as if they are a VIP shopper and the owners, Julie and Mark, are the BEST of small business owners!!

While I no longer live in the area, the Christmas House is still my favorite place to shop for Christmas decorating! If I can't make the trip to shop in person, I have only to call or drop them an email to have things quickly shipped my way.

Thank Linda0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Christmas House also viewed

Elmira, Finger Lakes
Elmira, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Christmas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing