We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Gauchito

El Gauchito
Ranked #7 of 148 Restaurants in Elmhurst
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Since 1979, El Gauchito is the place where you can find a little piece of Argentine in New York. In a family atmosphere, you may share an Argentinian barbecue or taste authentic dishes from the Argentine cuisine. We offer an extensive menu, delicious desserts and the best Argentinian wines. In our butcher shop, you will find top quality beef with Argentinian-style cuts, along with sausages, blood sausages and matambre (rolled stuffed flank steak). We also offer a wide variety of Argentinian products, from yerba mate (unique tea blend) to dulce de leche in various brands at the best prices. We welcome you to discover our shop and find the authentic delicacies you need. Our goal is to provide best quality and service at an unbeatable price.
Elmhurst, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small but quaint”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Love Argentina cuisine. Very good food just small space can get very crowded on weekends but the food is delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luvhauntedtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tsukuba, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Argentine oasis in Queens”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

During a recent stay in New York I visited this place. It combines a restaurant and an Argentine style deli. Empanadas were excellent and at a surprisingly reasonable price. On an earlier trip I had had dinner at the restaurant, quite good Argentine fare (parrilla and red wine). I am confident I will visit again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neantro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely El Gauchito”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have been coming here for years and it has always been excellent.
It is nice to find a restaurant where not only do they serve excellent food but do so with a smile.
You have to try it too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveltheworld2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Skirt steak was soooooooooooooo good!!!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place was so nice, we walked in, they greeted and sat us right away. The waiter was also very pleasant and easy to work with, thank U.

Price was reasonable and they are in no rush for you to leave once they closed for the evening.. they patiently waited until we were ready to go...

Skirt steak was YUM!!!! Will come back for sure!!! Thank U

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great for the meat lovers”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We first started coming here years ago after one of our Argentinian friends was nice enough to bring us. She used to rave about how this place reminded her of her childhood. After tasting the food I can see why she loved the place. For the price you get so much. We usually always get the combo platter with skirt steak, sausage and short rib. It's cooked and seasoned perfectly. Definitely recommended if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TYI77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gauchito also viewed

 

Been to El Gauchito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing