We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual restaurant with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gin Mill

The Gin Mill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
buffalo new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Casual restaurant with great food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my fourth visit to the Gin Mill for lunch and again I was not disappointed. We were immediately seated by the hostess/waitress and given the specials for the day....three soups, several sandwiches as well as the printed menu. As ususal my husband had the New England Clam Chowder which he thoroughly enjoyed. Piping hot and very filling but he still had time for his favorite turkey reuben. I tried the chicken cesaer wrap sandwich which was terrific. The food is always good and always filling. The price is always reasonal and it truly is a fun place to meet and talk with new people.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathyjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    101
    43
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE SERVICE and mediocre food...”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went to the Gin Mill on Good Friday for lunch and a couple of drinks. We had a large party of thirteen people. When we went in the front room was full, but the back room was empty so we were able to sit down together. The waitress came back to inform us that she was the only one working that afternoon, so we thought we would help her out and write down our order for her. We did all of that and we even went to the bar to get our own drinks. It still took her over 20 minutes just to come and get the order we did ourselves, and she threw the silverware and place mats on the table. We then sat and waited, and waited, and waited for an hour and a half. We made several attempts to get someones attention to no avail. Then a very DRUNK cook came out and said she was going to be serving us. She was slurring her words and stumbling around the table. We asked her about our food and she said it was almost done. She slowly brought out our food, and then realized she forgot to put in one of the kids orders of chicken fingers. We ate our food, which was not very good at all, and we tried to talk to the bar manager about the problems we ran into. We were told by the MANAGER, "Well, this is just how it is. We weren't expecting it to be busy." Sadly, none of us will ever go back to the Gin Mill and we actually were telling people who were about to enter the restaurant about our experience and they turned away and went to other establishments.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“great place for skiers”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is THE place in Ellicotville in my opinion. They have great wings at a reasonable price and it's a good place to meet people!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good bar for out of towners”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was in Ellicottville for a wedding and got in early, needing somewhere for dinner. The Gin Mill caught our eye because there was a band playing (they were very good!). The bar is decorated with antique photos, stuffed beavers and moose, and random signs, so it gave us something to look at while we waited for our food. Prices are what is to be expected in a ski town, about $8 for a burger. The food was...average, nothing overly special (the fries were gross). Beer selection was good though; they have several local brews on tap. Relaxed atmosphere. Would probably stop back if I'm in the area again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Micalyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon,Ohio
Level Contributor
155 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spend winters in Ellicottville. The Gin Mil very popular with locals. Basic bar and restaurant in downtown. Fair prices. Good service. They have daily specials. Burgers are good. I eat there often.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clsned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gin Mill also viewed

 
Ellicottville, NY
Ellicottville, NY
 

Been to The Gin Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing