We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good drinks, good times”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gin Mill

The Gin Mill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Niagara, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good drinks, good times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Gin Mill is packed after a good day of skiing, and that adds to the character of the place. It didn't take long for 3 of us to squeeze through the crowd to grab a table right at 5:00 on a Saturday, and start sampling from their great beer offering. The food quality wasn't the greatest - frozen burgers, not house made - but I would definitely go back and try something else. Seems to be the place to go in town, with a come-as-you-are welcome.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bargain_hunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    101
    43
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stick to the Basics.........”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I can only assume that the hamburger and French fries are good. Our family tried to avoid the most unhealthy choices, but we were not rewarded. Best way to describe my wires fish plate was beige. My ostrich burger from the lighter fare was served with a pound of carrot sticks. Seriously?

Go for a beer and some chicken wings, I guess. But don't take your family for some good food.

PS. We could have done with a smile from the waitress at some point through the meal. I guess I wouldn't be happy working there either.

Helpful?
2 Thank WheelieDrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a good meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Good value, good atomosphere, great food. Simple american fares done right. Their curly fries are awesome and be sure to try the Ostrich burger for a healthy take on the classic burger.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
315 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Decent Pub Grub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Gin Mill is a well worn pub and an OK stop if you aren't looking for more than a good burger and minimal asthetics. They do have bands at times, but not a great set up for listening to them. Again, an OK place, but glad I was there with the boys (while on a ski trip) and not my wife.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy food. Great local feel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great place to come for relaxing meal while checking out the town of Ellicottville. We liked the rustic charm, relaxed friendly staff and non-fussy, tasty fare. Loaded fries and zucchini sticks hit the spot for quick, tasty appetizers. Food at nearby tables looked great too!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mentor_Mom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gin Mill also viewed

 
Ellicottville, NY
Ellicottville, NY
 

Been to The Gin Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing