We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend out!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ellicottville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jefferson Inn of Ellicottville
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a great stay the The Jefferson Inn. The place is a quaint b&b and the hostess/owner Jean and Ellie, her golden retriever, made the stay even more welcoming. The food was great, rooms were clean and comfortable and we met some wonderful people. We are planning another gwo in the winter to do some snow shoeing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 81 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We try to stay at a B&B at least once every rear, more if possible. Over the last 20 years or so we maybe have up to 35/40 stays, both here and over seas (which include inns). Our first B&B was the best, some 20 odd years ago, but "The Jefferson Inn" has just topped that.

We were greeted at first by a wonderful friendly maid, who gave us some tips to see in town while she finished cleaning our room. Upon arriving back we were greeted by Elli, the owners lovely 'Golden Retriever" and the owner Jean.

After a tour of town we settled in. The rooms, we saw them all, are all well furnished and a good size. Our bed made for a great sleep, and the room was set up so if the weather was bad you could enjoy time staying right there. The weather was good so we were off to explore the town and the area. Every time back we were greeted by Elli, which we loved.

The inn is warm, it was built in 1837 with additions in 1865, so it has an aged and family feeling. Though old the house has all the modern things you need, or you feel you need, for today.

The breakfast, outstanding! Just what you need to start you off on your day in and around Ellicottville.

We can't wait to have a reason to visit in New York again so we can stay with Jean and Elli.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

What a great place to spend a night in a small town in upstate New York. Hostess/owner Jean is a very friendly person with a warm welcome to all. The rooms are very clean, fresh and comfortable. The house is a charming old Victorian. The beds are delightfully firm and fresh. And the breakfast served is about as good, probably better, than what you would cook for yourself. Served with a marvelous yogurt and fresh fruit cup, accompanied by delightfulY fresh and tasty coffee. I've been there twice now and look forward to my next visit. Thanks to hostess Jean for a very warm and welcoming place to stay in charming Ellicotville.

Room Tip: Be nice to Jean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have stayed here several times and it never disappoints! Love Jean, Ellie, the close proximity to every place in town and the comfy beds. This is the place to stay in EVL unless you need to be slope side.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MintChoc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I made our first treck to Holiday Valley this past weekend and decided to try the Jefferson Inn. This place is a real gem and we would highly recommend it. We had orginally booked another B&B in town, but when we called the inn keeper to let he know we wouldn't be checking in until 8 pm, she told us she wasn't willing to stay to check us in. THANK GOD this happened and we found a better, more delightful place- The Jefferson Inn. The rooms were very clean and well appointed and the common areas were so cozy and quaint. The breakfast, which is included in the price, was very nice and served by Jean herself. We are normally hotel snobs and we loved this place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Inn is comfortable, with friendly staff that goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Jean and Ellie (house golden retriever) do a wonderful breakfast and if you get the ski package, a surprising lunch. We picked this place for the location and it is in the ideal location. You can walk to anyplace in the village and drive to Holiday Valley in minutes. This was our first time staying in EVL, but we re already planning our next stay. We loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean K, Owner at Jefferson Inn of Ellicottville, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank You! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Ellicottville has lots of spring and summer activities for you - golfing, mountain biking, and hiking - to name a few!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you love traveling with your dog then this is the best place to stay with your best bud. Very comfortable beds, clean and the staff is amazing. The peanut butter cookies are worth the price of admission! The inn keeper Jean is a doll. She made our two weekend stay a delight! Let's not forget co-owner Ellie the golden retriever who will do anything for a hug. Thank you for a wonderful time. vnr

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VasandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicottville
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
1.1 mi away
Inn at Holiday Valley
Inn at Holiday Valley
#2 of 5 in Ellicottville
218 reviews
9.4 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Lodge
Edelweiss Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ellicottville
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ilex Inn
The Ilex Inn
#5 of 8 in Ellicottville
42 reviews
1 mi away
Tamarack Club
Tamarack Club
#3 of 5 in Ellicottville
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Inn of Ellicottville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Inn of Ellicottville

Address: 3 Jefferson St, Ellicottville, NY 14731-9652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ellicottville
Price Range: $89 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 1800’s Victorian Inn located in the center of Ellicottville. Beautifully restored and furnished with antiques and reproductions. Just steps to boutiques, restaurants and spas. Five bed and breakfast rooms and two efficiency suites. Full gourmet breakfast for five B&B rooms. Two efficiency units are pet and child friendly. Full private bath in all rooms. Air conditioned bedrooms. Free wireless internet. Complementary non-alcoholic beverages and afternoon sweets. Socialize around the living room fireplace or outside on the wrap-around porch. Outdoor hot tub available year round. One mile to the slopes at Holiday Valley or Holimont. Close to Allegeny State Park, Amish country, Seneca Allegheny Casino, and several antique stores. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing