We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE LOVE LOVE”
Review of Black Dog Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ellicottville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Dog Lodge
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Linda and Rick are the most amazing people ever. We've gone to the Black Dog Lodge 6 years in a row and everytime I go I get just as excited as the first time. LInda and Rick have become our friends through out the years and even drove all the way to Youngstown to share our special day with us. We love you guys :) See you guys soon!
Marci and Scott

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marci922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 89 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Black Dog Lodge a few weeks ago and what a wonderful little vacation it was! We got up every morning before breakfast to be greeted by Linda and her dogs, Mac and Angus. Angus would join us for our morning hike and when we returned, we were served a fabulous breakfast! Linda is an amazing cook and such a great hostess! Her husband even joined us to chat over breakfast. It was wonderful meeting the other guests, as well. Our room was quiet, clean and felt just like home! We absolutely loved our stay at this B&B and am sure that when we return to Ellicotville, we will be staying there again! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Black Dog Lodge in July 2012. We came off an all- day motorbike ride from Canada for one night. Had we realized just how incredibly romantic this place is we would have booked a whole weekend! We can't say enough about the warm welcome, hospitality and delicious food!!! Rick and Linda made us feel instantly at home. They gave us our space but also engaged in a memorable conversation over coffee at breakfast. The rooms are all beautiful and our bed was really comfortable! The entire lodge is super clean with lovely decor that does not distract. There are many decks, and quiet spots for sitting with beautiful gardens surrounding. The location is perfect as we wanted something a little more private, just outside of Ellicottville. We wish we could have stayed for a week!! We want to go back in the winter with our older kids and book for a ski trip and some snow shoeing!! Thanks SO much Linda and Rick for such a great night away!! We will recommend you to everyone we know!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We, unfortunately, only spent one night at this B&B. It was definitely the best one that we have ever stayed in. Rick & Linda were fabulous hosts - after breakfast was over (and let me tell you that breakfast was AMAZING!!), they sat down at the table, drank coffee (which was also AMAZING) with us and chatted like we were old friends. They made us feel very welcome. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone and everyone. It was such a relaxing time....and did I mention that the food was AMAZING!?!

Room Tip: We stayed with another couple who had the Beauty Room....and the next time that is the one that I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our first B&B experience and we found it to be fantastic! Linda and Rick were excellent hosts and made sure that our stay was comfortable. In the morning we went out to enjoy their garden and we got to play with Angus and Mac their two black dogs then we met in the dining room where we also met some of the other guests. They were great people and we felt like we went to visit friends that we have not seen in years.We just got back and already are planning to go visit them again.
Thanks again Linda and Rick

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joao S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our three days at Black Dog Lodge this past weekend were perfection. Rick and Linda were warm and gracious hosts. The rooms were immaculate and tastefully decorated. They really did give us the run of the place--amazing. And yes, it was romantic there!

We took long walks in the woods behind the house. The Ellicottville hills and fields were stunning.

The food was excellent and interesting. The table settings were a beautiful new surprise each morning. Linda and Rick have created magical gardens, ponds and landscaping for guests to enjoy.

We certainly plan to return to Black Dog Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hikergrandma_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in beauties room this past weekend. It was amazing. This was our first b and b experience and I Don't think we will ever stay in a hotel again. Rick and Linda were exceptional hosts and made us feel like we were family up for a visit. Their two dog Angus and Mac were fun too. we are going to stay again next month for a short getaway. I find it hard to believe someone could write a bad review on the black dog inn. Stay there you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikedev29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ellicottville hotels
5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
5.9 mi away
Inn at Holiday Valley
Inn at Holiday Valley
#2 of 5 in Ellicottville
216 reviews
5.1 mi away
Edelweiss Lodge
Edelweiss Lodge
#6 of 8 in Ellicottville
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Tamarack Club
Tamarack Club
#3 of 5 in Ellicottville
165 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Black Dog Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Dog Lodge

Address: 7975 Rt. 219, Ellicottville, NY 14731
Location: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ellicottville
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Black Dog Hotel Ellicottville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing