We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time same as the 1st”
Review of Black Dog Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ellicottville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Dog Lodge
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We had stayed at the Black Dog 5 years ago and had always said we would go back again. The place didn't disappoint and even had a new black dog to fuss over....If you've never stayed in a B&B this is the standard you should look for, rooms are great and the breakfasts are better. Relaxing conversation at breakfast only enhances the experience, we will be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank visitorToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 89 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

If you want to have a chance to get away and reconnect, this is the place. You find yourself on well landscaped grounds on a wooded lot. A large country house appears as you round the curved driveway. The home offers a comfortable living room with a large stone fireplace. We were in a great bedroom full of updates and jacuzzi bathroom. The kitchen served as a natural stage for morning coffee with our hosts Linda & Rick Meister and to meet the other guests. We all adjurned to the dining room where we were served fresh fruit, banana/blueberry bread and a delicious quiche. We left at around 11am feeling wonderful.

Room Tip: There is a room with it's own kitchen, living room, bathroom & bedroom. If you want total p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveFike3755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Beautiful B&B located about 3/4 miles outside of the village of Ellicottville, owners Linda & Rick were wonderful, friendly and informative. Rooms were large & bathroom had a jacuzzi tub which I took full advantage of. The only negative, which isn't actually about the B&B but rather the location, was difficulty in getting taxi service to or from the town itself.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Coilltebabe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

My husband and I just returned from our 4th stay at the Black Dog, and as always, we left happy and completely satisfied. The Black Dog is a beautiful, relaxing place to stay. Rick and Linda are really wonderful people and exceptional hosts; they make you feel like you are family when you stay at the Lodge. The rooms are welcoming and cozy, the breakfasts are made from scratch and absolutely mouthwatering. Never mind the chain hotels in the area, stay at the Black Dog, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpark115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We just got back from a long weekend at the Black Dog Lodge and we loved it. Linda & Rick are outstanding hosts - most friendly and welcoming. There was a large livingroom with fireplace to socialize and the atmosphere is warm and cozy. Breakfast was delicious and varied and the portions were enormous. We absolutely loved playing with the dogs too. A great stay and we'll definitely recommend it and will be back again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

This was our first B & B experience and it really surpassed our expectations. The luxurious house is well cared for. Linda and Rick made the house very wlecoming with their friendly personalities. The pleasant conversations during breakfast made us feel like we were part of their family. The breakfasts were outstanding. Barb did a really great of filling everyone up. The evenings in the gathering room were very quiet and relaxing. We will hopefully return for another stay in the spring!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We have just returned from our second stay at The Black Dog Lodge and, once again, we were not disappointed. The Lodge is perfectly appointed and the hosts Linda and Rick always make you feel at home. This year we stayed in Beauty's Room which has a beautiful window looking out to the gorgeous snowy grounds. Linda's breakfasts are to die for and only one of the reasons we have, and will continue to, return to this amazing place. Thanks again L&R for welcoming us back with open arms. We will certainly return again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelmacTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicottville
5.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
14.3 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
10.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Inn at Holiday Valley
Inn at Holiday Valley
#2 of 5 in Ellicottville
213 reviews
21.0 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
5.1 mi away
Edelweiss Lodge
Edelweiss Lodge
#6 of 8 in Ellicottville
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Dog Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Dog Lodge

Address: 7975 Rt. 219, Ellicottville, NY 14731
Location: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ellicottville
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Black Dog Hotel Ellicottville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing