We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in the best ski town in the East”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Holiday Valley
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2011

(Please note that I said "Best ski town," not "Best ski resort.") This was our first time staying at the Inn in several years, and the experience was just as good as it's been previously. We took advantage of the midweek package, skiing a Sunday evening and Monday. The night we stayed was the coldest one in western NY in years, but we still had a great time. The Inn is fairly utilitarian, but I don't mean that in a bad way--the rooms are hotel-style but have a great skier-friendly tile foyer for coats/boots, a handy ski locker directly outside the door, and great temperature control in the room (very nice when the temp dips to -20 degrees F!). Breakfast is decent, although the crowding was pretty atrocious the morning we were there, probably a reflection of the fact that everyone slept in to let the temperature warm up a bit. The inside/outside pool is nice, and the slopeside location at the base of the Sunrise lift can't be beat. John Harvard's Brew House is a nice addition to the resort since the last time we stayed there. All in all--a very nice getaway at a very fair price, and we will certainly plan to return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKMMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 213 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2011

On our third annual trip to Holiday Valley for some holiday season skiing, my wife and I opted to stay at the Inn, primarily for the ski in/out access. The room was convenient to the lift and had a view of it out the back door, but you can't literally ski up to the room's back door, as it cannot be opened from the outside. Getting around to the front of the room from the lift is easy enough, and parking is quite convenient in front of the room door. The entryway is well designed for skiing and the room was big. Furnishing and decor were a bit spartan, the tub was tiny, and the TV volume would not turn down all the way, which was really strange and more annoying than you think if you like to fall asleep with it on. The included breakfast was apt and included hot items, not just muffins and toast, although the second day offered only waffles in the hot trays (there were eggs and sausage the day before). We stayed during the busiest time of the year but did not suffer any major consequences of that. The front desk staff was oddly unknowledgeable of the skiing and rentals, though. The bedspread was a polyester job that was disappointing compared with what you get in a more upscale hotel, but this isn't an upscale hotel. Sure, we paid top dollar and the room isn't all that, but we were satisfied and comfortable and the room was quite functional for the primary objective—skiing. The hot tub and indoor/outdoor pool were nice, but the sauna wasn't hot enough, and the hot tub was always full with teenagers. Again, minor issues for the top of the high season. Part of the charm of Holiday Valley is that it's not a big-time upscale resort. In that context, we'd definitely recommend staying at what was once the flagship inn, before the new Tamarack club came along, although that seems to be primarily condos. We might try that next time if possible, otherwise we'll return to the inn, which we prefer to the local B&Bs. That's partly because we're not really in to B&Bs, and partly because they're not a terribly good value or convenience in Ellicottville in high ski season, so might as well go all-in for the lift access at the Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aerocraft67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

The Inn at Holiday Valley goes for a quaint little drive-in motel feel, and they achieve it wonderfully. Lobby has a rustic ski lodge feel, and it's literally steps to the chairlift.
The rooms are simple and well-done. (Clean, updated, sufficient amenities, gorgeous patios in every room with nice adirondack chairs) Very practical for skiing, which a lot of hotels fail on. Plenty of space for wet boots, hanging clothes, and, for the rack-room traveler, we had enough space to plop a full-size air mattress between the two beds. They offered nice feather pillows and I slept like a rock.
There is a small bar on-site, and a simple bread/cereal/juice/coffee continental breakfast. They had a few hot items on Sunday morning, scrambled eggs and sausage patties. It's not a full-service hotel, but there are two restaurants in walking distance (Cadillac Jack's directly across the street, and John Harvard's next door at the Tamarack club) Additionally, the front desk offered to have their security guard drive us up to the main street in Ellicottville village for tips. In such a remote small town, that's a huge plus. (Taxi would have been $10 each way to go about 3 miles)
I wish the pool hours were longer, but the setup is great. You enter through changing rooms, and hop in the pool from inside. There are big car-wash style flaps you swim out through, and can enjoy a heated pool and hot tub while it's snowing.
We got an early-season package which was an excellent deal. I'm not sure if I would stay during the full-swing season, it gets a little pricier than I can afford. But $170 for a room and 2 2-day tickets is a really great value. I was really happy with what I got for my money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaWilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Far from being the typical review of Ellicottville which is based around Winter and Skiing activities, recently me and my wife decided we wanted to get out of Buffalo for a long weekend and relax, so we decided to take the drive to Ellicottville and stay at the Inn At Holiday Valley.
Obviously Ellicottville only has a few places to stay anyway and our only requirements were that it was quiet, with nice rooms and would be not far from the Ellicottville itself, we also took the bikes and wanted to be able to keep them at the Hotel and just lock them up.
Upon arrival its very easy to find, and only about a mile and half from the center of Ellicottville, its a very nice place with a european lodge look to it, we checked in and I was slightly disappointed with the rather moody girl working reception, however check-in was simple and painless, we asked about keeping our bikes somewhere and she said we could lock them up on their bike rack outside, which was nice and convenient.
The Room we stayed in is a typical room for the resort, very spacious with wi-fi connection and a nice balcony that overlooks the golf course and the ski-lifts, it has a very nice indoor and outdoor pool area with a hot tub and sauna, we got lucky as on our last day we stayed on a monday and it seemed as though we were the only people in the entire hotel, and as such had free reign of the Pool and spa facilities.
One poor experience was when we were relaxing in the room and we decided we wanted to watch a movie and sit in the room and eat, the hotel doesn't have room service, or a restaurant attached, I found it strange that after a day or so in the room there was no welcome folder in the room, nothing to give us information about Ellicottville or indeed the hotel itself, and in particular local places to order food, I went down to the front desk and mentioned this and the girl said I should have a folder in the room, I told her we didn't, she said she'd send one "right up"..................i'm still waiting for it !!! :)
Another disappointment was the free "Continental Breakfast", I know not to expect the finest in cuisine but I was hoping they would at least have a little more than bagels and french toast / cereal...alas that is all they serve and if you're looking for a more adventurous breakfast you may want to try Burger King across the street.
Overall we didn't have a bad experience, It was around $160 a night, which I do expect a slightly higher level of service, but at a push there are much worse places to stay i'm sure !!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martyfarty69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This resort was beautiful and relaxing. It was great to sit outside our rooms on muskoka chairs as well as relax in the indoor/outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We had stayed the night before in a comfort Inn and paid more for less. The only thing I would change is to add a little more variety on the continental breakfast. We definitely would come back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gord_sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Loved the spacious room with two sinks outside separate toilet area. Walk in area has knobs for quick clothing hang up. Easy access to lifts and town for great food. Parking outside front door has easy access to load ski equipment and bags. Has flat screen TV and soothing decor.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deluxe_value
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Everything -- room, service, skiing-- exceeded our expectations. We stayed midweek and in the first week of March.

Room: Our room was very clean and nicely decorated, with a flat screen tv. It included a well-planned entrance area complete with tiling, bench, and hooks, perfect for coming in from skiing. There was also a separate storage area for our equipment. You can't beat the location-- you're steps away from one of the lifts. We didn't realize a free continental breakfast was included, so that was a pleasant surprise too.

Service: Everyone, from the people at the front desk to ski patrol to the waitstaff at John Harvard's, was friendly and accomodating-- very refreshing to see that. In one instance, we were grabbing a bite in Tannenbaum lodge, and my wife mentioned her legs might be a bit too tired to take two trails to ski back to the room. We were talking about a shuttle and asked the ski patrol guys at the next table about how it worked (there's a shuttle service that will take you back to your room), and they even offered to call them for us, which was above and beyond what they do. That was a very nice touch, and made our stay special.

We ate a few meals in downtown Ellicottville; all were decent, but the meal and service we liked most was the one we got late night at John Harvard's, which apparently just opened right at Holiday Valley. They have like 20 beers on tap, excellent thin crust pizza (and we eat a lot of pizza in NYC), friendly, unhurried service (even so late at night-- we were there on a Wednesday night at 11:00pm), and panoramic views of the slopes.

As always, the skiing was terrific. Mostly powder, enough trails to keep you interested and busy for three days of skiing, and courteous skiers/snowboarders make it a standout mountain. Skiing really doesn't get much better than this in the East, and we would dare say it's a slightly smaller version of Vail (but nicer people).

Thank you Holiday Valley! We will be back to see you next season (only a few short months away)!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azim31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicottville
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
8.8 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springville
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Olean
16.3 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Holiday Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Holiday Valley

Address: 6081 Route 219 S, Ellicottville, NY 14731-9720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
Price Range: $141 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Holiday Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 50 miles south of Buffalo NY the Inn at Holiday Valley is located in the middle of Holiday Valley's Double Black Diamond Championship Golf Course, and at the base of the Sunrise Chairlift offering ski in ski out access. Complimentary Winter Shuttle Service to Base Lodges available. Walking distance to the great shops and restaurants of the village of Ellicottville! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Inn at Holiday Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Holiday Valley Hotel Ellicottville
Hotel At Holiday Valley
Inn Holiday Valley
Holiday Valley Ellicottville
At Holiday Valley Ellicottville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing