We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Luxury Resort” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarack Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarack Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a Luxury Resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

We've stayed at the Lodge twice this year, both midweek trips. We booked the "Deluxe Standard Room"special for $99.00 per night. The first stay in January, we were crammed into a 8X8 room that barely had room to turn around in. The noise was incredible! Our room was next to a vent to the outside and noise from all the other levels traveled up to our room! Our room was slopeside, which most people find desirable, but the snow cats and snowmaking equipment kept me awake all three nights. Couple that with the screaming, yelling, and running up and down the halls of the children (yes, children during the week!) and adolescents, and I realized this is not the place for a romantic interlude! The rooms are furnished in a functional, but minimalist style. Everything you need is there, but it's downsized and there's not much space for any of it. There is virtually no vanity or counter space in the bathroom or kitchenette. Service is minimal too. The lodge has the air of a distressed hotel. The employees try hard, but they don't know much about anything and they all seem to be doing 3 things at once. I booked a service at the spa in January, and was promised a midweek discount. I offered to pay for the massage at time of booking, but was told it was easier if I paid after the service was completed. When the service was completed, I was not only charged full price, but an upgrade charge for the wimpy massage I received! The desk attendant swore she never offered me a discount, and that the service I received was never discounted at the spa! So much for the spa's 100% satisfaction guaranteed policy. The spa was closed the first two days we were there in Feb. and 2 Canadian women I met were upset that they couldn't book a massage. Voicemail, voicemail, everywhere....the front desk doesn't pick up during check-in and check-out hours, you can't call housekeeping directly for anything, and messages are either not relayed or are ignored by their recipient. The hot tubs are small and lukewarm, and the kids use them as a swirling swimming pool! They jump off the concrete into the tubs over and over again. Their parents are supposed to be there, but...where are they? Over in the other hot tub partying!!! I could go on, but you get the picture...

Having said all of this, you can't beat the location or the convenience. The restaurant, John Harvard's, is good when it's open, but the only meal you can count on is dinner. There is no breakfast and perhaps no lunch, during the week. If you get a large room in a good location, your stay can be pleasant if you understand how things work, and don't work, and don't expect a 5 star resort hotel experience. Families love the kitchens and kitchenettes, and they don't have to discipline their children, so the parents can truly have a good time. I'd like to go back to the Inn or stay in town, but my husband likes the indoor parking, the convenience, and the newness. At $99 per night weekdays and slopeside, it's a decent deal. I'd never pay the weekend rates. They are absolutely outrageous!!! I can't even imagine how the place functions when it's full!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gsugru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    61
    17
    7
    10
See reviews for
78
36
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cleveland, ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

My family and our friends love to ski Holiday Valley at least a few times each year, splurging at least one long weekend at the rustic Inn slopeside. The Inn is not a perfect place but wonderful for so many reasons. I persuaded everyone to try the new Tamarack Club this year, though it is slightly more expensive than the Inn. Imagine our surprise to find accommodations marginally two star. The "deluxe" room was not as suggested in the pictures. Small windows in each, with one of the rooms having a single pane that our friends aptly called their "dorm room." Smaller tv on small dresser and no desk at all. No hair dryer, no luggage rack, one tiny waste basket in the bathroom for the whole room. The main bed is really a small "double" that some couples will have a hard times sharing, though the pullout sofa was very comfortable. (You can also order a rollaway.) The small counterspace in the little kitchenette is completely occupied by the microwave, leaving no real counterspace to use. We had to put the coffeemaker (found under the sink) on the floor to use. (Maybe this is why the hotel offers free coffee downstairs). Forget about using the small counter in the bathroom, which is not enough for leaving more than one person's toiletries overnight. I asked management whether we were just unlucky and happened on rooms poorly furnished by an "owner" but was told all of the deluxe rooms cannot be changed. One room had a problem with poor soundproofing with the adjoining room (every room has a connector door). Also, who ever heard of a resort with checkout at 10 with no exceptions? Both the hot ubs outside are small and were packed like sardines with intoxicated people the whole Saturday evening we wanted to use them possibly since the Club lets cans and bottles of booze to be consumed inside. Seems like the place was designed and furnished and still run by investors without consulting with hotel people. Parking is very limited but we were lucky to find spaces and were happy that the Club offered free valet if we had not. Valet for the skis was also very nice, but the ski-in-ski-out is no comparison to the Inn. Maybe the other non-deluxe rooms are better, but I would never go back to a "deluxe room" again, certainly not for anywhere close to the nearly $300 per night charged. We are going back to the Inn. Holiday Valley is first class in most respects, which made this experience so surprising and disappointing. They should modify their ads, change the name of the "deluxe room" to "express room," and drop the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank unsavvytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

We got the studio room with a murphy bed, fire place, and a full kitchen. It really did feel spacious, but somethings felt unfinished.
My husband discribed the bathroom as "big but small." It had lots of floor space but small vanity and small shower. It's bare wall felt empty given the size.
The murphy bed was missing a light and just had an empty hole. The dishwasher was louldest I've ever heard. The fridge made strange noises all night. And the door frame was at least 1 1/2 inches off. Strange stuff to pick on, but the building just screams quick construction.
On the up side, there were 2 closets, one with drawers. A mop in room. The counter top was very nice. Ipod charger/cd player, DVD player, big flat screen, and a cumfy leather couch to watch it on.
The service was odd at the front desk. They didnt tell us when checkout would be, and when we asked where the waffle cabin was, she had never heard of it, and it took her 10 mins to find out its at the bottom of one of the main chair lifts.
Sergio at John Harvards is one of te best waiters we've had in a long time. :)

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dessny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

The Tamarack Club is conveniently located at the base of the mountain, just steps from the kids' ski school, shops, and slopes. Your skis and poles can be checked in and out of a room on the lower level so no need to lug them up to your room. We stayed in a room with a queen bed and a sofa bed, which was used by our kids. The suite seemed to be recently built or renovated. It was not luxurious but everything was very clean. The bathroom was pretty with a granite countertop. The kitchenette included a little fridge and microwave, which was great for storing and heating our leftover pizza from a delicious dinner in Ellicottville. Our mattress was too soft for my taste, but otherwise, no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelady042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

I have been to Ellicottville many times and was delighted to find that Holiday Valley has opened up a new Hotel! The Tamarack Club was absolutely beautiful! We had room overlooking the mountain/golf course. The room was new, clean and the staff was very accomodating. The room came with a full kitchen, (stove, microwave, coffee maker, sink) kitchen supplies which is great for families so you don't have to eat out for every meal. We were provided a crib for my 16 month old son upon arrival. The amentites were great. The new pool area was fun for the entire family. My son played in the kiddie pool all day. There is also a play area next to the pool that kids can go to as well. My husband and family members enjoyed golfing and on the Black Diamond Course and the restaurant in the Hotel was very good as well. We also went to the spa at the hotel and it was wonderful. We have decided to go back again next year!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mitzicat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

Stayed at Tamarack recently on a weekday night. Got a deluxe single. Was a bit larger than a good hotel room. Had a little kitchenette with dishes. Nice, large bathroom. Couch. LCD TV. Limited channel selection, though. Wonderfully comfortable bed - slept great. No radio reception on the first floor (I like waking up to the radio in the morning). Fantastic location. Workout room seemed nice, but didn't have the time to enjoy that. For the price paid, definitely a great deal. My fiancee enjoyed the garage parking. Two small complaints: 1) Their reservation website is horrible and 2) it could be difficult to find someone at the front desk in the evening. But it's a comfortable and beautiful new hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

My boyfriend and I are both snowboarders and loved everything about the Tamarack Club and Ellicottville.

First, Holiday Valley: We could not believe the convenience of the resort to the slopes, which were well groomed, especially considering the two feet of lake effect snow that came down while we were there. We were pleasantly surprised by the number and variety of trails, especially having many experiences with typical East coast ski resorts that were not nearly has impressive. We loved the various resting places around the mountain trails including warming huts, fire pits, and even a couple of different places to stop and have lunch or a snack, a warm drink or, if you're like us, a nice frosty beer. Then, at the end of the day, there was nothing better than being able to drop off our gear and go straight to the hotel room, where after a quick turnaround into bathing suits, we walked 15 feet outside and jumped in the hot tub to unwind. There is nothing more relaxing then being toasty and warm in an outdoor hot tub while snow is whirling above your head and in a view of the mountain in the distance.

Now, Ellicottville: A quaint town with several block of shops, bars and restaurants, as well as a conveniently located supermarket. The Gin Mill is an excellent place for all-you-can-eat spaghetti and meatballs on Monday nights- - but get there early. The local microbrew Ellicottville Blueberry Beer is a must have at the Gin Mill or anywhere.

Finally: There is truly something for everyone who needs a relaxing weekend (or week) away in this winter hot spot. If you do not ski, relax and enjoy a book in front of the fireplace in your room, work out in the hotel gym, enjoy the indoor or outdoor heated pool and warm up in the sauna. However, as snowboard enthusiasts, we highly recommend that you try it. Lessons are available on site.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicottville
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
0.3 mi away
Inn at Holiday Valley
Inn at Holiday Valley
#2 of 5 in Ellicottville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
16.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
16.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Club

Property: Tamarack Club
Address: Holiday Valley Road, Ellicottville, NY 14731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Club 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tamarack Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Club At Holiday Valley Hotel Ellicottville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing