We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time”
Review of Tamarack Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarack Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
ROC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“2nd time”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Overall an above average complex. Well run, well staffed, well managed overall. Clean, friendly, comfortable. With that being said, the pool is the complete opposite. A complete mess. Dirty, horribly managed. Unruly kids everywhere. I'm not anti-kid, but both hot tubs dominated by kids with drunk parents and pool overtaken too??? Unacceptable, especially when they advertise as having an adult pool. I saw a child in diaper relieve herself in pool, parent blaring music while running up to room every 5 minutes to replenish beer. MONITOR this pool!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuGotz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    62
    18
    9
    10
See reviews for
79
40
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the Tamarack in early August 2013 for a reunion weekend. We had the 1 bedroom which was clean. It had a full size bed and full size pull out sofa bed. The kids had lots of fun at the pools and also at SKY HIGH AERIAL ADVENTURE PARK and Mountain Coaster. They did not want to go home. We had a catered barbecue dinner for 40 people one night..it was just OK.
The hotel does offer Starbucks coffee in lobby in Am only. The spa prices were pretty high so I tried the Oasis Spa down the road 1 mile. Excellent massage for only $65 for 60 min.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLS7734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our fourth trip to Tamarack at Holiday Valley. Love it everytime. Beautiful accommodations and surroundings, clean, and friendly staff! Can't wait to return! The only strange thing is they don't have king size beds... Queen is fine but king would be the ultimate and for a resort as nice as this it should be a no brainier.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiagaraLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We and another couple stayed here in July for a weekend. The facility is lovely. Attractive main lobby, beautiful pool for adults (outdoor) and a fun outdoor pool with a slide for the kids. Nice place to sit around an open fire outside. Request a slope-side room because we had a beautiful view!

The room is a suite and has everything you could possibly need. Strange that the bathtub is in the bedroom, though! The bathrooms are large but the counter space is minimal. However, they supply a lot of towels and that was very convenient.

We weren't too thrilled, however, with the beds. We like a firm bed and these beds were not firm and we felt that the mattresses needed replacement.

One drawback was the fact that, although they serve complimentary Starbucks coffee in the lobby in the morning, there is no formal breakfast facility so we had to go into town, where there are several cute little places for breakfast.

Also, check out time is 10 a.m. I travel extensively and have never heard of such an early checkout. However, we did request a later checkout and were given until 11 a.m., considering it was a Sunday night and the rooms probably weren't booked out.

We ate dinner in the John Harvard Restaurant in the hotel complex and the food and service was excellent. We actually dined on the patio overlooking the pool and slopes and it was, indeed, lovely.

The front-desk clerks were very friendly and helpful, highlighting our maps of Amish country.
We would recommend staying at the Tamarack Club. It is somewhat pricey but it is a comfortable place to stay, with convenient underground parking.

Room Tip: Select slope-side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heregoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the tamarack club for oldies weekend. We saw Gretchen Wilson and Creedence Clearwater Revival. Even though we only live 45 minutes away, we had never stayed at, or even looked at the Tamarack Club. Our little room was very well appointed and had a nice little kitchenette, a couch and a great flat screen television. The pools are great, the spa looked lovely. Also, every employee we spoke to, from the friendly reception desk lady, to the housekeepers, to the outdoor staff, was so friendly and helpful. I don't want to wait until next years concert to stay again. It is a beautiful resort even for those of us that don't ski. I would go again just to get away from it all. I highly recommend this resort for anyone, couples, families, or friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the smallest room, the queen with kitchenette and were very satisfied. I wish I had at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcpPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

In June, we had our wedding at Holiday Valley. We had many out of town and local guests that stayed at the Tamarack with us for the weekend. Everyone was more than pleased! The hotel is beautiful! The rooms are spacious, modern, and clean! The spa is superior. The pools and golf courses were great! The Ski High Adventure Park was beyond fun! And the staff was friendly, helpful, and more than accommodating! We can't say enough about the food at John Harvard's Brew House in the Tamarack! We are a group of foodies, and everyone found the menu delicious! And we certainly can't forget about the stunning views! The Tamarack and entire staff at Holiday Valley gave us the wedding of our dreams! We can't wait to come back to Ellicottville every anniversary and celebrate at the Tamarack!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kmeselsohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

we were looking for a cabin at alleghany state park, since everything was booked we stayed at this place. its got a bunch of golf courses for those who are interested. we took a six room with kitchen accomodation. it had only one bathroom. it would have been nice if there were two bathrooms .but overall a good experience. would come here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haridas88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicottville
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
0.2 mi away
Inn at Holiday Valley
Inn at Holiday Valley
#2 of 5 in Ellicottville
212 reviews
8.8 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
16.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
16.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Club

Property: Tamarack Club
Address: Holiday Valley Road, Ellicottville, NY 14731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Club 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Tamarack Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Club At Holiday Valley Hotel Ellicottville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing