We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Condominium Hotel”
Review of Tamarack Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarack Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Beautiful Condominium Hotel”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Tamarack Club is a great condo hotel with a very inviting reception area. Beautiful leather furniture, large fireplace. The staff are very welcoming and efficient. We had a deluxe room which was large and nicely decorated. The rooms are also equipped with a microwave, small fridge, dishes for 4 people and coffee maker. The hotel and grounds are very clean. We enjoyed the property which has several pools, hot tub, cabana, golf course, pro shop and fitness center. It is but a mile from the Village of Ellicottville. We had supper at the hotel restaurant John Harvard. The food was every good...do try the Martini Salmon ...delicious. The service was excellent even if they were very busy that evening. There is a bar which has a fantastic selection of microbrewery beers. We certainly enjoyed our time at Tamarack and will come back. The only small complaint is that we reserved a room overlooking the valley. The valley was really the parking lot. Ask for a room overlooking the slopes. You might have to pay a bit more. We a were also surprised that
there was no place for breakfast on the property ....but at least they had free coffee. A beautiful hotel in a lovely surrounding!i

Room Tip: Choose aroomon the slope side if you want a view. No breakfast but the rooms are equipped with dishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cynthia0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    62
    17
    8
    10
See reviews for
79
38
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I was here for the second time for business. The rooms are
Retry standard fare but clean. My bed was old and in need of replacement. My tub filled up during my shower to about four inches deep and would not drain. I aske for this to be fixed during my stay but it was always the same. The food at the hotel is ok but not worth writing about.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raptorfan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have stayed at this property numerous times and every time it has been wonderful! The rooms are very clean, very large and very well appointed. I travel a lot on business and this is one of the best I've stayed in. The staff is very accomodating and polite, from check in to check out. I can't say enough nice things about the whole experience I have had there. The town is equally charming and Holiday Valley has something for everyone! I recommend the mountain coaster for sure!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. I have stayed in a variety of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We love this place for the pool and luxe rooms. However, this summer, they seemed to be cutting corners or staff, not sure which. Our room was "ready" upon our arrival, but there was no toilet paper in the room. We called and were later brought some, but huh? And be forewarned, there is no food service in the off-season. Lunch and dinner, you could go into town or eat on site at John Harvard's. Breakfast is a real miss -- nothing at the hotel and there's one or two offerings in town, but you have to drive into town. Would it be so hard to put out a couple of danishes, yogurt, fruit and coffee?

Room Tip: They charge more for rooms overlooking golf course and ski slopes. We sleep just as well without a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank secondfloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

very clean one bedroom. great smooth checkin as always! helpful front desk. they even remembered us and went out of their way to see how we were doing since ski season ended. kids and dh did rope and ziplining. they staff is helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Just checked into this gorgeous property, and I am so happy. The one bedroom room is beautiful and well appointed. Will definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDP527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Tamarack Club at Holiday Valley in Ellicottville has much to recommend it: pleasing exterior, gorgeous scenery and well maintained grounds. The wonderfully friendly and accommodating staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Those who golf, swim or ski will be especially happy with the amenities here. The area affords some interesting side trips to Amish country, antique malls and Salamanca casino. The John Harvard Brew House restaurant in the hotel is outstanding and reasonable. The heating/air conditioning system kept us very comfortable and the TV’s were adequate though poorly situated. Viewing from the dining area was not possible and the layout of the furniture seemed strange.
The resort has one major drawback...the beds! Especially for seniors, beds should be the priority in any hotel or resort accommodation if one is to enjoy the holiday. Our stay was marred by the absolutely terrible beds. Our one bedroom deluxe unit could sleep eight, but not one bed was comfortable. The queen bed is so soft that our problem backs ached unbearably. Six pillows under the mattress raised it enough to alleviate the problem somewhat for me, but not enough for my husband. The Murphy bed was extremely hard and since it was up against the kitchen counter, only one person could get into and out of bed without crawling in from the end. The staff found some foam toppers which helped counteract the hard mattress there for my husband. There is no adequate reading light for this bed. The sofa beds are impossibly hard and uncomfortable. In short, unless you can ”sleep on a clothes line” these beds will leave you sleepless. tired and frustrated. Apparently all the queen beds in the units are the same poor quality. Do those who set up the accommodations ever stay here? It is shameful to have such a beautiful resort downgraded in this way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank htvais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicottville
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
0.2 mi away
Inn at Holiday Valley
Inn at Holiday Valley
#2 of 5 in Ellicottville
208 reviews
8.8 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
16.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springville
16.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Club

Property: Tamarack Club
Address: Holiday Valley Road, Ellicottville, NY 14731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Club 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarack Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Club At Holiday Valley Hotel Ellicottville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing