We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, low key, friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tips Up Cafe - CLOSED

Tips Up Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food, low key, friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We really liked Tips-Up Café. We visited for dinner. I had Veal Parm, and my wife had Stuffed Shrimp. It’s not trendy or fancy, and maybe even a bit old-fashioned, but the food is homemade and excellent. The portions are reasonable, not gigantic. I highly recommend it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank vicnroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    33
    10
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Food is ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

My meal was good but average at best. It is about as good as you will get in this town as its not exactly a gourmet food destination.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raptorfan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
Level Contributor
227 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great food, busy place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

located on Main St, this restaurant has a large menu but we were told by the locals to choose from the blackboard menu with the daily specials and the choices were ample and food was excellently prepared, especially the Mediterrean pasta and the Pumpkin ravioli. Good value too

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlie499270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the rudeness of the Hostess”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Although the food is really quite good. The rudeness of the Hostess is truly amazing. It seems that she was happier turning people away than seating our party. I would like to say that this is a one off occurence but we have witnessed it on 2 occasions. Hey, get a personality or the mangement should get rid of Ms Rude !

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabingunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
438 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Dependable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We've eaten here a few times over the last 8 years or so. It's a small restaurant, casual atmosphere, menu is varied. This time we had onion soup (rated good), crab cakes (just OK), and stuffed mushrooms (just OK). Steaks were large servings and the filet mignon was served with a mushroom gravy (rated v. good). My husband had the duck a l'orange (not great was his assessment). The whiskey chicken was tasty. Wine is reasonably priced. We had cocktails to start which we rarely do - the margarita and apple martini were not great. I would say you know what to expect when you dine here. They only take reservations for groups of 6+.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfun001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tips Up Cafe also viewed

 
Ellicottville, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing